Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
Legal 9.5. AR 105
|
NFHS citation please (I know that it's a college video).
Commentator: "He passes it to himself".
Not possible, by definition.
4-31: A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the
ball to
another player.
So if it's not a pass, and let's say the official deems it not to be a shot, then what is it, and is it legal, and why?
What if he did the same exact thing happened but without the ball hitting the backboard (ends dribble, lifts pivot foot (both feet), throws ball into air, deemed not to be a shot, catches it while still airborne (player and ball never hit the floor), passes it to another player while airborne)?
Or let's say that he does this in the middle of the court and throws the ball cross court (not toward the basket)(ends dribble, lifts pivot foot (both feet), throws ball into air, catches it while still airborne (player and ball never hit the floor), passes it to another player while airborne)?
I've looked through the travel rule and can't figure why these two examples above are illegal (maybe they're not). They seem illegal, but I can't put my finger on it. So are they legal?