View Single Post
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2016, 05:12pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
It's The Old Team Equipment Trick ...

... Fools 'em every time. (Maxwell Smart, Secret Agent 86)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
9.5.
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard and catches the ball. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

Thanks BigCat. (Of course it doesn't say what the player can legally do after he catches the ball, but it's still a pretty good "general purpose" citation.)

Now let's concentrate on these plays:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
What if he did the same exact thing happened but without the ball hitting the backboard (ends dribble, lifts pivot foot (both feet), throws ball into air, deemed not to be a shot, catches it while still airborne (player and ball never hit the floor), passes it to another player while airborne)?

Or let's say that he does this in the middle of the court and throws the ball cross court (not toward the basket)(ends dribble, lifts pivot foot (both feet), throws ball into air, catches it while still airborne (player and ball never hit the floor), passes it to another player while airborne)?

I've looked through the travel rule and can't figure why these two examples above are illegal (maybe they're not). They seem illegal, but I can't put my finger on it. So are they legal?
The more I think about it the more legal it becomes. His pivot foot never touches the floor after he becomes airborne. Am I correct that it's legal?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Feb 01, 2016 at 05:27pm.