The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2016, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by billymac View Post
nfhs citation please (i know that it's a college video).
9.5.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2016, 05:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
It's The Old Team Equipment Trick ...

... Fools 'em every time. (Maxwell Smart, Secret Agent 86)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
9.5.
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard and catches the ball. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

Thanks BigCat. (Of course it doesn't say what the player can legally do after he catches the ball, but it's still a pretty good "general purpose" citation.)

Now let's concentrate on these plays:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
What if he did the same exact thing happened but without the ball hitting the backboard (ends dribble, lifts pivot foot (both feet), throws ball into air, deemed not to be a shot, catches it while still airborne (player and ball never hit the floor), passes it to another player while airborne)?

Or let's say that he does this in the middle of the court and throws the ball cross court (not toward the basket)(ends dribble, lifts pivot foot (both feet), throws ball into air, catches it while still airborne (player and ball never hit the floor), passes it to another player while airborne)?

I've looked through the travel rule and can't figure why these two examples above are illegal (maybe they're not). They seem illegal, but I can't put my finger on it. So are they legal?
The more I think about it the more legal it becomes. His pivot foot never touches the floor after he becomes airborne. Am I correct that it's legal?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Feb 01, 2016 at 05:27pm.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 11:33am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... Fools 'em every time. (Maxwell Smart, Secret Agent 86)



9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard and catches the ball. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

Thanks BigCat. (Of course it doesn't say what the player can legally do after he catches the ball, but it's still a pretty good "general purpose" citation.)

Now let's concentrate on these plays:



The more I think about it the more legal it becomes. His pivot foot never touches the floor after he becomes airborne. Am I correct that it's legal?
You can't pass the ball to yourself. Not sure why you're confusing this play with others plays you're giving.

It clearly says what the player can do after this. Think about it: A dribble picks up the dribble then throws it at something. Then is allowed to catch the ball again. It's basically the same as having a 6th man on the court for passing purposes. If the catch wasn't a travel then starting a dribble definitely isn't going to be traveling.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Illegal Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
It clearly says what the player can do after this. Think about it: A dribble picks up the dribble then throws it at something. Then is allowed to catch the ball again. It's basically the same as having a 6th man on the court for passing purposes. If the catch wasn't a travel then starting a dribble definitely isn't going to be traveling.
Travel? How about an illegal dribble?

Clear? The caseplay doesn't even state if the player moves his feet between the throw and the catch. How can that be clear? He can't travel if he doesn't move his feet. It's the same as a player standing, not moving his pivot foot, or either foot, and tossing the ball up in the air a couple of times, which has already been interpreted as a non-call. The catch was never a travel because he never moved his feet. Since this caseplay does not identify the throw as a shot, then the player can only legally begin a new dribble under a few circumstances:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

Again, assuming it's not a shot (the caseplay doesn't call it a shot), has the ball touched an opponent; or was it a pass, or fumble, that was then touched by another player? We already know that you can't pass the ball to yourself (or your backboard, you can only pass to another player), so it wasn't a pass, plus it was never touched by another player. It was intentional so it wasn't a fumble, plus, again, it was never touched by another player. Did the ball ever touch an opponent?

Why wouldn't this be an illegal dribble?

Could it be that some interpret a ball thrown at the player's own backboard as always, automatically, being a shot? Where's the rule interpretation for that (NFHS)?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Feb 02, 2016 at 04:29pm.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Billy how many other officials do you need to disagree with you before you accept an answer? The rule/case book doesn't cover every single possible scenario.

IF the player can legally catch the ball then what the heck do you think he/she can do afterwards with the ball?

In your case lets just say it's a shot and move on.
__________________
in OS I trust
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:48pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Clear ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
In your case lets just say it's a shot and move on.
If it's a shot, yes, he can dribble. Fine. Move on from there.

But what if it's not a shot?

What if any ball thrown by a player at his own basket is not always considered a shot?

In any case, the casebook play is not clear that the player can legally dribble the ball a second time. Maybe he can, but it certainly isn't clear.

If the caseplay is so clear, please explain to me how the player can legally dribble a second time if the throw is not a shot. If it's clear, it should be quite easy to explain. Right?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Feb 02, 2016 at 03:50pm.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If it's a shot, yes, he can dribble. Fine. Move on from there.

But what if it's not a shot?

What if any ball thrown by a player at his own basket is not always considered a shot?

In any case, the casebook play is not clear that the player can legally dribble the ball a second time. Maybe he can, but it certainly isn't clear.

If the caseplay is so clear, please explain to me how the player can legally dribble a second time if the throw is not a shot. If it's clear, it should be quite easy to explain. Right?
If he couldn't legally catch it then it would be an illegal dribble. So since he can legally catch it he can do with the ball what any player can that has just gained initial possession.
__________________
in OS I trust
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 03:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
What To Do Next ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
If the player can legally catch the ball then what the heck do you think he/she can do afterwards with the ball?
Pass. Shoot. Request a timeout. All legal. But until I'm convinced otherwise, he can't dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2016, 04:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
This Is Not The Iowa Caucuses ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Billy how many other officials do you need to disagree with you before you accept an answer?
We're not conducting a poll, we're using the rules, and casebook plays, and maybe annual interpretations, to correctly interpret a situation.

All it takes is one good citation to change my mind. That's all, one good citation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 12:24pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
All it takes is one good citation to change my mind. That's all, one good citation.
Maybe my post was a bit confusing.

1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No? Why? Oh, why you ask. I got this.

Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard.

So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard. Well, what does a teams equipment mean? Find that out and you probably have all your answers.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2016, 12:13pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Travel? How about an illegal dribble? No. the case book says this is legal. No travel. No illegal dribble. We're legal here and have no whistle.

Clear? The caseplay doesn't even state if the player moves his feet between the throw and the catch.Because it doesn't need to. If the same act the player did was against the floor then it would be a violation by rule. Since you can pick up your dribble, throw the ball of the backboard, and then catch it without there being a violation... there's no reason to go into what isn't or is legal -- it just told you. Throwing the ball off the backboard is like throwing it off one of your own players. How can that be clear? He can't travel if he doesn't move his feet.Sure, but he can double dribble if he throws it at the floor and catches it. Backboard isn't there floor. It's like another player and the case book shows that with NOT calling something that would be a violation if it was off the floor. It's the same as a player standing, not moving his pivot foot, or either foot, and tossing the ball up in the air a couple of times, which has already been interpreted as a non-call.No it's not. The air we are breathing is not considered part of a players 'equipment' The catch was never a travel because he never moved his feet. Since this caseplay does not identify the throw as a shot, then the player can only legally begin a new dribble under a few circumstances:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

Again, assuming it's not a shot (the caseplay doesn't call it a shot), has the ball touched an opponent; or was it a pass, or fumble, that was then touched by another player? We already know that you can't pass the ball to yourself (or your backboard, you can only pass to another player), so it wasn't a pass, plus it was never touched by another player. It was intentional so it wasn't a fumble, plus, again, it was never touched by another player. Did the ball ever touch an opponent? The case play says it hit the backboard and that's it. Then catching the ball is legal: not a double dribble. You're trying to add in irrelevant information that isn't in the play. It said exactly what happened. We don't need to figure out if someone touched the ball or not. Picks up dribble. Throws it off backboard. Catches ball. Legal. You're worrying about so much stuff that doesn't mean anything. If there's one, and only one, thing you should be worried about it's what is 'equipment'.

Why wouldn't this be an illegal dribble?Cause case play?

Could it be that some interpret a ball thrown at the player's own backboard as always, automatically, being a shot? Where's the rule interpretation for that (NFHS)?It doesn't say this anywhere. It does, however, a team's own backboard is their equipment.
The case says why. Your own backboard is a part of your equipment. As I said before, treat it like a 6th man and it'll all make perfect sense -- at least to me it does.

My replies are in bold.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penn State vs. Iowa GT/BI (Video request) JRutledge Basketball 3 Thu Mar 12, 2015 09:18pm
Video Request -- Kansas State/Iowa State -- Block/Charge VTOfficial Basketball 0 Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:42pm
Iowa State/Baylor - Video request x2 (Clips Added) zm1283 Basketball 22 Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:13pm
Texas vs Iowa State MD Longhorn Football 17 Thu Oct 10, 2013 09:29am
Video Request: Kansas vs. Iowa State JRutledge Basketball 22 Tue Feb 26, 2013 08:39am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1