The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 10:24am
Official Forum Member

Proper way to coach this?

Hi Guys,
I always like to preface my posts by announcing that I'm a coach and I appreciate what you all do.

I coach in a very tight gym. There are literally fans on the floor with about 1-2 feet of space between their feet and the sideline. The other side has no fans but the benches are the same, 1-2 feet between the bench payers feet and the sideline. So it is tight, plus I am always standing and have been good about avoiding officials since I'm used to it. But the other night we had a great game, close all the way through. Bleachers were packed and fans everywhere, plus the other coach was up and half on the court most of the night. The officiating crew works our games quite often but for whatever reason they were running in my fast break all night long. On nearly every transition my big guy who is running to one of the corners is waiting for the official(both of them) to get off the baseline to get to his spot. Several times my kid had an official running between him and the ball(ball crossing half court, kid near the sideline, official 6 feet off the sideline).