![]() |
|
|
|||
Kickball Arrow Question
Team A and Team B get a jumpball called. It's Team A's arrow. Team A throws the ball in Team B kicks the ball. Kickball violation called. Team A then throws the ball in again. Do they lose the arrow? Can't find it fella's.
|
|
|||
Questioning official would like to known: Even after the next throw in that the arrow still stays with Team A. His belief is that Tea A still gets their throw in so it should switch. *I post questions from some buddies of mine as well as questions from me if we cannot find it*
|
|
|||
Think of it this way...
Team A is entitled to a throw in because of...a held ball and the arrow pointing their direction. Team B violates during the throw in, meaning the throw in never ends (true whether it's an AP throw in or not) so the arrow can't switch. Team A now has a throw in because of the violation, not because of the arrow. The arrow still points toward A because the AP throw in never ended. I hope I explained that well enough. That line of thinking is what helps me. |
|
|||
This bring me to this question... Say Team A is throwing AP throw in. Team B goes to intercept but bobbles it and Team A player plows him over in a common foul way. Does Team A keep the arrow? I'm assuming so since no possession was established.
|
|
|||
In MTD's scenario, the AP arrow does change because there was a violation by the team throwing the ball in. A violation by the throw in team is the only way they can lose the arrow. A violation by the defense, or a foul on either team does not cause the arrow to change. Violations by the throw in team can include a kicked ball, taking longer than 5 seconds to release the ball, stepping over the line, moving along the end line when it is a designated spot throw in, and probably others that I can't think of.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Because any violation by the throwing team during a throw-in ends the throw-in and causes the team to lose the arrow if it was an AP throw-in. Simple rule.
|
|
|||
Quote:
The throw-in ends when: The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation Also, the violation list doesn't say legally touched, it says touched. The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player on the court before going out of bounds untouched So we have the rule, then the violation. How exactly is this simple to say a kick ball by the throw-in team reverses the arrow? |
|
|||
Quote:
Those are some more which I can think of at the moment. |
|
|||
DrPete Is Our Winner!
DrPete is our winner and if I had a box of fine Cuban cigars I would award it to him!
MTD, Sr. P.S. Thank you to all of those that provided explanations as to why his answer was correct. Have a great evening of games everybody.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Question... Do we go to the arrow? | Bchill24 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 12, 2007 04:41pm |
Arrow Question | Grail | Basketball | 11 | Tue Jul 11, 2006 05:52pm |
ADD KICKBALL TO THE BOARD PLEASE | chuck chopper | General / Off-Topic | 4 | Wed Oct 26, 2005 07:33pm |
Kickball Question | BBallinRick | Basketball | 8 | Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:53am |
ap arrow question | Dibbs | Basketball | 12 | Thu Jan 03, 2002 09:44am |