![]() |
|
|
|||
Questioning official would like to known: Even after the next throw in that the arrow still stays with Team A. His belief is that Tea A still gets their throw in so it should switch. *I post questions from some buddies of mine as well as questions from me if we cannot find it*
|
|
|||
Think of it this way...
Team A is entitled to a throw in because of...a held ball and the arrow pointing their direction. Team B violates during the throw in, meaning the throw in never ends (true whether it's an AP throw in or not) so the arrow can't switch. Team A now has a throw in because of the violation, not because of the arrow. The arrow still points toward A because the AP throw in never ended. I hope I explained that well enough. That line of thinking is what helps me. |
|
|||
This bring me to this question... Say Team A is throwing AP throw in. Team B goes to intercept but bobbles it and Team A player plows him over in a common foul way. Does Team A keep the arrow? I'm assuming so since no possession was established.
|
|
|||
If you've got a rulebook handy, look up how a throw in legally ends.
|
|
|||
Devils' Advocate.
PLAY: Held ball. Team A has the AP Arrow. A1 releases the ball on the throw-in such that it crosses the boundary line and the first contact is a kicking violation by A2.
RULING: Team B is awarded a throw-in because of A2 kicking violation. The questions of the day is: Is the AP Arrow reversed? And why? MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
From the NFHS Case Book:
4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5) |
|
|||
Legal touch ends a throw in- not posession.
|
|
|||
A lot easier to understand if you study the throw-in rules in regards to when a throw-in ends.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Question... Do we go to the arrow? | Bchill24 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Nov 12, 2007 04:41pm |
Arrow Question | Grail | Basketball | 11 | Tue Jul 11, 2006 05:52pm |
ADD KICKBALL TO THE BOARD PLEASE | chuck chopper | General / Off-Topic | 4 | Wed Oct 26, 2005 07:33pm |
Kickball Question | BBallinRick | Basketball | 8 | Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:53am |
ap arrow question | Dibbs | Basketball | 12 | Thu Jan 03, 2002 09:44am |