![]() |
Kickball Arrow Question
Team A and Team B get a jumpball called. It's Team A's arrow. Team A throws the ball in Team B kicks the ball. Kickball violation called. Team A then throws the ball in again. Do they lose the arrow? Can't find it fella's.
|
The throw in never ended, since a defensive violation occurred during the throw in.
|
Questioning official would like to known: Even after the next throw in that the arrow still stays with Team A. His belief is that Tea A still gets their throw in so it should switch. *I post questions from some buddies of mine as well as questions from me if we cannot find it*
|
Quote:
It's similar to the following scenario, even though in your case the throw in had not even begun: Held ball called, A's ball with the arrow, then just before the throw in is administered B's coach earns himself a technical foul. A gets the shots and the ball, and the arrow does not change. |
Think of it this way...
Team A is entitled to a throw in because of...a held ball and the arrow pointing their direction. Team B violates during the throw in, meaning the throw in never ends (true whether it's an AP throw in or not) so the arrow can't switch. Team A now has a throw in because of the violation, not because of the arrow. The arrow still points toward A because the AP throw in never ended. I hope I explained that well enough. That line of thinking is what helps me. |
This bring me to this question... Say Team A is throwing AP throw in. Team B goes to intercept but bobbles it and Team A player plows him over in a common foul way. Does Team A keep the arrow? I'm assuming so since no possession was established.
|
Quote:
|
Devils' Advocate.
PLAY: Held ball. Team A has the AP Arrow. A1 releases the ball on the throw-in such that it crosses the boundary line and the first contact is a kicking violation by A2.
RULING: Team B is awarded a throw-in because of A2 kicking violation. The questions of the day is: Is the AP Arrow reversed? And why? MTD, Sr. |
From the NFHS Case Book:
4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5) |
In MTD's scenario, the AP arrow does change because there was a violation by the team throwing the ball in. A violation by the throw in team is the only way they can lose the arrow. A violation by the defense, or a foul on either team does not cause the arrow to change. Violations by the throw in team can include a kicked ball, taking longer than 5 seconds to release the ball, stepping over the line, moving along the end line when it is a designated spot throw in, and probably others that I can't think of.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Those are some more which I can think of at the moment. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm. |