The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 82
Over and back (backcourt) on back tap

Team A missed shot
Team A back taps the ball it bounces around the 3p line heading towards division line.
Team A player attempts to grab ball near division line (hands of stone) never controls it and ball goes into backcourt.
Team A then recovers ball in backcourt.

Violation or not?

When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUplayer View Post
Team A missed shot
Team A back taps the ball it bounces around the 3p line heading towards division line.
Team A player attempts to grab ball near division line (hands of stone) never controls it and ball goes into backcourt.
Team A then recovers ball in backcourt.

Violation or not?

When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.
I agree with you.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:03pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
I agree with you.
On top of agreeing with him you are both correct.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:14pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,111
Had a similar play last night. I was Slot opposite, ball got stolen and subsequently touched by the same team in their front court and back court but without control established. Trail blew a violation but looked kinda unsure. I saw the play and came over and offered information that I didn't think there was control in the FC to start. We fixed it but the coach who would have benefited was pissed, railed on me how we should have gone to the arrow since we "disagreed".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 161
The way I was taught......would you have granted a timeout to the team? If the answer is no, then you would not have a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: A little east of there.
Posts: 471
Rules references:

Rule: 4-12-3
ART. 3
Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
----------------------------
Rules reference:
Rule: 9-9-1
ART. 1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUplayer View Post
When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.
Maybe he judged control.

Or, else he kicked it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:50pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
The way I was taught......would you have granted a timeout to the team? If the answer is no, then you would not have a backcourt violation.
This thinking isn't going to work in all scenarios.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Had a similar play last night. I was Slot opposite, ball got stolen and subsequently touched by the same team in their front court and back court but without control established. Trail blew a violation but looked kinda unsure. I saw the play and came over and offered information that I didn't think there was control in the FC to start. We fixed it but the coach who would have benefited was pissed, railed on me how we should have gone to the arrow since we "disagreed".
Was there control in the BC, or was it from a throw-in?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 609
Not a violation despite the fact that half the gym and one coach will go nuts.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 02:40pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 11,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUplayer View Post
Team A missed shot
Team A back taps the ball it bounces around the 3p line heading towards division line.
Team A player attempts to grab ball near division line (hands of stone) never controls it and ball goes into backcourt.
Team A then recovers ball in backcourt.

Violation or not?

When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.
Who asked you at halftime? Were you working the game with the state tournament official or just watching?

Do you live in VA?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Jan 14, 2016 at 02:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by #olderthanilook View Post
Rules references:

Rule: 4-12-3
ART. 3
Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
----------------------------
Rules reference:
Rule: 9-9-1
ART. 1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
So a missed dunk that clangs off the rim remains as team control? Similar play as above in the Iowa State-Texas game on January 12 where a missed dunk saw ball go into back court without any player securing possession. The team that missed the dunk was first to touch in backcourt and a violation was called.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
So a missed dunk that clangs off the rim remains as team control? Similar play as above in the Iowa State-Texas game on January 12 where a missed dunk saw ball go into back court without any player securing possession. The team that missed the dunk was first to touch in backcourt and a violation was called.
No.

Either you described it wrong, the officials judged it not a dunk "try", or they kicked it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 96
I had a play last night where the rebound was loose and bouncing toward the backcourt. The offensive team went after it and one player touched it with a hand (not a dribble) and finally established control in the backcourt. No whistle from me. The other team's coach couldn't believe I didn't call it, but then took a look at the scoreboard and backed off (his team was up like 25 in the last two minutes). I didn't even need to use the explanation I had planned for him.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 04:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 15,082
This Is A Job For ...

... The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules:

During a throwin, even under a teamís own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back to Back Timeouts SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 4 Tue Jan 18, 2011 01:21am
Back judge - back pedal or turn and run stegenref Football 12 Sun Sep 12, 2010 08:23am
Over the back, ON the back RM article Nevadaref Basketball 32 Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:26pm
FIBA front and backcourt status, and the over and back rule JugglingReferee Basketball 5 Mon Jan 19, 2009 09:53pm
Backcourt violation rule change? (over and back) HL Clippenchain Basketball 24 Thu Jan 24, 2008 01:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1