The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMUplayer View Post
Team A missed shot
Team A back taps the ball it bounces around the 3p line heading towards division line.
Team A player attempts to grab ball near division line (hands of stone) never controls it and ball goes into backcourt.
Team A then recovers ball in backcourt.

Violation or not?

When asked at halftime I said no because they never established team control after the try. Veteran Official who works state level games called the violation.
I agree with you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:03pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
I agree with you.
On top of agreeing with him you are both correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:14pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Had a similar play last night. I was Slot opposite, ball got stolen and subsequently touched by the same team in their front court and back court but without control established. Trail blew a violation but looked kinda unsure. I saw the play and came over and offered information that I didn't think there was control in the FC to start. We fixed it but the coach who would have benefited was pissed, railed on me how we should have gone to the arrow since we "disagreed".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 01:36pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Had a similar play last night. I was Slot opposite, ball got stolen and subsequently touched by the same team in their front court and back court but without control established. Trail blew a violation but looked kinda unsure. I saw the play and came over and offered information that I didn't think there was control in the FC to start. We fixed it but the coach who would have benefited was pissed, railed on me how we should have gone to the arrow since we "disagreed".
Was there control in the BC, or was it from a throw-in?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Not a violation despite the fact that half the gym and one coach will go nuts.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2016, 02:22am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Was there control in the BC, or was it from a throw-in?
No and no.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2016, 05:04am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
So I had this very play happen to me this week. I was lead in two man and my P called a backcourt violation. I was sure he got it wrong. I just let it be, in this instance as none of the coaches knew that he kicked it. So out of curiosity, I asked the 3 man varsity crew after our game what a partner should do in ths situation. 1 said let them live and die with their call. 1 said if they ask for help offer it, if not, let it be. Cant remember what the third said, maybe go with the inadvertent whistle and give the ball back to the proper team.

So I pose the same question to all of you. How do you help in this situation. I think we have talked about in the past the difference between kicking a rule and making a bad call on bad judgement. I think I should have approached my P with that information and let them change their call if they wanted to. Ready, go.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 174
The way I was taught......would you have granted a timeout to the team? If the answer is no, then you would not have a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:50pm
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
The way I was taught......would you have granted a timeout to the team? If the answer is no, then you would not have a backcourt violation.
This thinking isn't going to work in all scenarios.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 04:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
This thinking isn't going to work in all scenarios.
No, but it's a great way to consider whether player control had ever been established.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 15, 2016, 11:35am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
No, but it's a great way to consider whether player control had ever been established.
Sure, but it's wrong and if someone follows it they won't call some BC violations.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 15, 2016, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
Sure, but it's wrong and if someone follows it they won't call some BC violations.
Explain?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: A little east of there.
Posts: 650
Rules references:

Rule: 4-12-3
ART. 3
Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
----------------------------
Rules reference:
Rule: 9-9-1
ART. 1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by #olderthanilook View Post
Rules references:

Rule: 4-12-3
ART. 3
Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
----------------------------
Rules reference:
Rule: 9-9-1
ART. 1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
So a missed dunk that clangs off the rim remains as team control? Similar play as above in the Iowa State-Texas game on January 12 where a missed dunk saw ball go into back court without any player securing possession. The team that missed the dunk was first to touch in backcourt and a violation was called.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2016, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
So a missed dunk that clangs off the rim remains as team control? Similar play as above in the Iowa State-Texas game on January 12 where a missed dunk saw ball go into back court without any player securing possession. The team that missed the dunk was first to touch in backcourt and a violation was called.
No.

Either you described it wrong, the officials judged it not a dunk "try", or they kicked it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back to Back Timeouts SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 4 Tue Jan 18, 2011 01:21am
Back judge - back pedal or turn and run stegenref Football 12 Sun Sep 12, 2010 08:23am
Over the back, ON the back RM article Nevadaref Basketball 32 Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:26pm
FIBA front and backcourt status, and the over and back rule JugglingReferee Basketball 5 Mon Jan 19, 2009 09:53pm
Backcourt violation rule change? (over and back) HL Clippenchain Basketball 24 Thu Jan 24, 2008 01:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1