The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:44pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
And the rim is not an extension of the floor. Hell, half the time the rim isn't even attached to the floor.

Extensions of the floor would be bleachers, table, benches.

The backboard has inbounds status, therefore, so does the rim. If it has status with regard to inbounds/out of bounds, it must also have status with regard to inside/outside the line.

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The backboard has inbounds status, therefore, so does the rim. If it has status with regard to inbounds/out of bounds, it must also have status with regard to inside/outside the line.

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.
Not necessarily.

The rim could be neutral....in fact I think it has to be.

Why?

If the rim were treated the same as the floor inside the 3 point arc, all tries would end when the ball hit the rim and any 3 that wasn't net-only would become a 2 when the ball hit the rim. Of course, that isn't the case. So, I suggest that the rim (and backboard too), while inbounds, is neither in the 2 point area nor the 3 point area.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 06:13pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Not necessarily.

The rim could be neutral....in fact I think it has to be.

Why?

If the rim were treated the same as the floor inside the 3 point arc, all tries would end when the ball hit the rim and any 3 that wasn't net-only would become a 2 when the ball hit the rim. Of course, that isn't the case. So, I suggest that the rim (and backboard too), while inbounds, is neither in the 2 point area nor the 3 point area.

This would be an excellent point if we were talking about ball location, but we're not. We're talking about player location.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
When I dunk the ball, it, the ball, actually leaves my hand a split second before my hand hits the rim. Also, if anybody can do that they deserve 3 points.

Ps. It's a nerf ball...with a rim on the back of a door but same principles apply..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,037
1. On 99% of dunks the ball is released prior to the player's hand(s) making contact with the ring.

2. By rule, contact with the backboard or basket has nothing to do with player location. Here's a test case for everyone: A1 jumps from out of bounds along the frontcourt end line. While airborne A1 touches the side of the backboard with one hand and then grabs a rebound and tosses the ball into the basket before landing on the court. Is this a good goal or an out of bounds violation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
1. On 99% of dunks the ball is released prior to the player's hand(s) making contact with the ring.

2. By rule, contact with the backboard or basket has nothing to do with player location. Here's a test case for everyone: A1 jumps from out of bounds along the frontcourt end line. While airborne A1 touches the side of the backboard with one hand and then grabs a rebound and tosses the ball into the basket before landing on the court. Is this a good goal or an out of bounds violation?
I would say that's one helluva good goal. Unfortunately, it wouldn't count. Would you assess a T for touching the backboard to gain an advantage? 😃
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 08:07pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
I would say that's one helluva good goal. Unfortunately, it wouldn't count. Would you assess a T for touching the backboard to gain an advantage? ��
It's a T. The advantage gained was that he used the touch of the board to keep from getting an out of bounds violation.


Try this one, which is slightly more conceivable. A1 throws an errant pass which is headed out of bounds behind the board. A2 goes up in an attempt to save it and touches the back of the board just before touching the ball. Is this a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 09:33pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
1. On 99% of dunks the ball is released prior to the player's hand(s) making contact with the ring.
I am not so sure about that percentage since I doubt there was a study done on the topic. A lot of dunks involve you having some contact with the rim while releasing the ball. Especially the big aggressive dunks.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 09:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,592
I can tell many of us must be bored as this will never happen in my lifetime and I doubt anyone here and their life time or we might have to do some big time drug testing.

I will worry about this when it happens to someone else. Until then it is really a discussion in futility.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 26, 2015, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The backboard has inbounds status, therefore, so does the rim. If it has status with regard to inbounds/out of bounds, it must also have status with regard to inside/outside the line.
The boundary line is sometimes a plane that extends upwards. The three-point line is not, and does not, so I don't agree with your conclusion above.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 26, 2015, 10:27am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,561
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who
is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball
that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal
from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.

I'm trying to understand some posts. Some of you are saying that if the shooter touches the rim before releasing the ball, you consider him to be shooting from within the three point arc, and thus, it's only two points.

And, if the shooter touches the rim after releasing the ball, you consider him to be shooting from outside the three point arc, and thus, it's three points.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 26, 2015 at 10:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 26, 2015, 10:32am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,561
Headache ???

If a player, while holding the ball, jumps and hits his head (not the ball) (unintentionally, no advantage gained) on a basket support, is said player out of bounds?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 27, 2015, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who
is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball
that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal
from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.

I'm trying to understand some posts. Some of you are saying that if the shooter touches the rim before releasing the ball, you consider him to be shooting from within the three point arc, and thus, it's only two points.

And, if the shooter touches the rim after releasing the ball, you consider him to be shooting from outside the three point arc, and thus, it's three points.

I looked at the definitions (NFHS) of shooting and dunking. Shooting appears to involve throwing/tapping while dunking appears to involve forcing through the basket. By definition, dunking does NOT have to involve rim contact. The video of Griffin "dunking" appears to involve no rim contact with his hand. That NBA goal would be defined by the NFHS as a dunk. Billy Mac's 5-2-1 reference indicates that a "try" behind the 3-point line would count as 3 points. So, IMO, if someone jumped from behind the 3-point line and forcefully scored (dunked) a goal while touching the rim, it would count as 3 points. If the same situation occurred without touching the rim (still dunking by definition), it would count as 3 points.

Hypotheticals....gotta luv 'em.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 point line KevinP Basketball 8 Tue Mar 19, 2013 04:26pm
3 point line/arc ibumgardner Basketball 12 Thu Oct 09, 2008 07:19am
NCAA 3 point line oc Basketball 2 Wed Oct 08, 2003 01:36pm
Moving the 3-point line BMA Basketball 4 Thu Jun 13, 2002 06:59am
3 point line? ilya Basketball 9 Mon Jul 10, 2000 10:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1