The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:06pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
And I can't for the life of me figure out what difference it makes whether the dunk was released prior to the shooter touching the rim.
The rim is inside the 3 point line.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:09pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The rim is inside the 3 point line.
It's not touching the floor in the 2 point area. You are where you are until you get where you're going. It would be a 3 point dunk if this was at all possible.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The rim is inside the 3 point line.
OK, I'm going to have to unpack my rule book after moving, but I'm pretty sure the location of an airborne player is defined strictly by where he last touched the floor. I'll be shocked if there's any reference to the rim there.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:27pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
OK, I'm going to have to unpack my rule book after moving, but I'm pretty sure the location of an airborne player is defined strictly by where he last touched the floor. I'll be shocked if there's any reference to the rim there.

There isn't, because it never mattered...............until now.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
There isn't, because it never mattered...............until now.
And since it's not there, it's (touching the rim) not relevant to the rule. If they change the rule, then it could be a two point shot, but until then, it's 3.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:30pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Actually, 4-35-4 says "....the floor, or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher."

I would say that is the applicable rule.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Actually, 4-35-4 says "....the floor, or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher."

I would say that is the applicable rule.
And the rim is not an extension of the floor. Hell, half the time the rim isn't even attached to the floor.

Extensions of the floor would be bleachers, table, benches.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 05:44pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
And the rim is not an extension of the floor. Hell, half the time the rim isn't even attached to the floor.

Extensions of the floor would be bleachers, table, benches.

The backboard has inbounds status, therefore, so does the rim. If it has status with regard to inbounds/out of bounds, it must also have status with regard to inside/outside the line.

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The backboard has inbounds status, therefore, so does the rim. If it has status with regard to inbounds/out of bounds, it must also have status with regard to inside/outside the line.

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.
Not necessarily.

The rim could be neutral....in fact I think it has to be.

Why?

If the rim were treated the same as the floor inside the 3 point arc, all tries would end when the ball hit the rim and any 3 that wasn't net-only would become a 2 when the ball hit the rim. Of course, that isn't the case. So, I suggest that the rim (and backboard too), while inbounds, is neither in the 2 point area nor the 3 point area.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 26, 2015, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The backboard has inbounds status, therefore, so does the rim. If it has status with regard to inbounds/out of bounds, it must also have status with regard to inside/outside the line.
The boundary line is sometimes a plane that extends upwards. The three-point line is not, and does not, so I don't agree with your conclusion above.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 25, 2015, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The rim is inside the 3 point line.
Is it?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 point line KevinP Basketball 8 Tue Mar 19, 2013 04:26pm
3 point line/arc ibumgardner Basketball 12 Thu Oct 09, 2008 07:19am
NCAA 3 point line oc Basketball 2 Wed Oct 08, 2003 01:36pm
Moving the 3-point line BMA Basketball 4 Thu Jun 13, 2002 06:59am
3 point line? ilya Basketball 9 Mon Jul 10, 2000 10:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1