![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
That is my way of telling you that you are incorrect on this point. Anytime that the ball unintentionally slips out of a player's grasp, it is a fumble. The art of officiating is discerning if the action was unintentional or done deliberately. Officials are paid to make those judgment calls. What you have stated (that you are just going to penalize the player for bad offense) is lazy and a failure to fulfill one of the basic tenets of officiating--making an honest assessment of the game action. |
|
|||
Yep, it's judgment. There is nothing in the rule book that shows either side is wrong.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Deecee stated earlier that if a player changes his mind on the pass, tries to hold it, but it still "pops out" he is going with the original intent of the player. "Pops out" here means "slips" to me. Original intent can be helpful in determining what the player was doing but, if the ball slips out, it is a fumble. The OP also said it was a fumble. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I think if the ball moves far enough away that steps are taken, a travel call is the way to go. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
If it's not a fumble, then he has pushed the ball to the floor and, if he is the next player to touch the ball, it is a dribble. You cannot travel while dribbling. The only difference between a bounce pass and a dribble is who touches the ball next. So he has either fumbled the ball and legally recovered it or he has committed an illegal dribble violation. Which it is depends on whether you judge the release of the ball to be intentional or not. |
|
|||
Found it.
SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the bail must be released for a try or pass. (4-43-3a; 9-4) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Insisting that it's impossible to begin a pass, change one's mind, and then fumble the ball - thus ruling anything remotely like the OP an illegal dribble - is the call of least resistance. It will keep coaches, fans, players off your back... but it won't impress your supervisors should they see this or hear of it.
You decide what kind of official you'd rather be. I would think that even after 15 years, one can still learn. The day I know everything in any sport is the day I should hang 'em up.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Agree completely. The judgment is deciding if it slipped or not. That was the first thing I mentioned in that post. Once you decide it slipped, judgment is over. it is a fumble. Again, Deecee seem to acknowledge that the ball slipped, "pop out" i think he used, but still said it was a pass. That is where the issue is.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think the play you cited is in case book…Was it at one time or is it an old interp.? thx |
|
|||
My opinion is that in the OP, I need to see something that clearly makes me think the player is not attempting to make a pass. There are a lot of things that can be seen by watching the action of the passer, including the actual release of the ball. Players will generally hold the ball differently when they are trying to not pass the ball compared with when they are going to pass the ball. The hand position can be a key thing to look at on plays like this.
I think we have all seen plays where the ball just slips out of a players hands when they are obviously faking a pass. There is a difference between that and a poorly thrown pass or a pass that goes where it shouldn't. For me, I need to see that the act of releasing the ball was intentional and deliberate to call a violation on a play like that. In my opinion, the benefit of the doubt always goes to the player. The act is not illegally unless I am 100% sure it is illegal. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Finally heard back from my rules interpreter.
This sounds like a judgement call. If you feel that A1 was in the act of passing the ball and then tried to hold up but releases the pass anyway, I would say it is a violation if A1 was the first to touch the ball. If you feel A1 legitimately fumbled the ball without attempting to pass it, then it could be argued that A1 could be the first to pick up the ball. I think if A1 started any kind of passing motion and then tried to bring it back and lost the ball in the process, I would call it a pass and at that point and A1 could not be the first to pick up the ball.
__________________
in OS I trust |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Can't think straight...need assistance | egj13 | Basketball | 14 | Tue Dec 22, 2015 02:36pm |
Don't get yourself straight-lined! | briancurtin | Baseball | 19 | Sat May 05, 2012 09:25am |
Just the T, or straight to the bench? | Lukester | Basketball | 19 | Thu Feb 09, 2012 04:32pm |
straight arm | Texoma_LJ | Football | 4 | Mon Jul 04, 2005 09:20am |
Straight Up | rainmaker | Basketball | 10 | Wed Feb 02, 2005 06:02pm |