Quote:
Originally Posted by SD Referee
Let's assume that somebody doesn't call this a double dribble, which I agree it is. Could the "secondary" call (if you miss the double dribble) be a travel? You essentially ended up passing to yourself after you lost your dribble. I think that is the call that the crowd, coaches, and players would understand and not argue with.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD Referee
I have to agree with this after reading all of the posts. This was mostly like an unintentional release of the ball. Probably not a double dribble if it was a classic muff. I wasn't there to see it.
I think if the ball moves far enough away that steps are taken, a travel call is the way to go.
|
One thing it's absolutely not is travelling. Yes, you won't get an argument but that's because most people haven't taken time to understand the rules on dribbling and travelling.
If it's not a fumble, then he has pushed the ball to the floor and, if he is the next player to touch the ball, it is a dribble. You cannot travel while dribbling.
The only difference between a bounce pass and a dribble is who touches the ball next.
So he has either fumbled the ball and legally recovered it or he has committed an illegal dribble violation. Which it is depends on whether you judge the release of the ball to be intentional or not.