![]() |
|
|
|||
FT Shooter Fouled
A1 is shooting 2....B1 commits a Hard Foul on A1 who has not left her spot on FT line and ends up on the floor.
The contact is deemed excessive as B1 was going with her bottom right at A1's knee. Question: 1) If this happens after the 1st FT..is this a Technical Foul? 2) If this happens after 2nd FT..is this an Intentional Foul? |
|
|||
Quote:
Is live-ball contact ever a T? Is dead-ball contact (other than on or by an airborne shooter) ever not a T? Are "Intentional" and "Technical" exclusive? Or, could this be an Intentional Technical? |
|
|||
Sure -- but *after* the FT (which was the question) is going to be a dead ball after the first FT and may or may not be a dead ball after the second FT.
|
|
|||
Seemed like the OP may have though dead ball on first FT and live ball on second.
|
|
|||
Quote:
He told me that after the 1st FT..ball is dead thus a "T" After 2nd FT, ball is alive thus Intentional. Is his thought process correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
I'd find it extremely hard to find a T on this play. |
|
|||
My apologies..What our Post game discussion focused on was that if the foul occurred after 1st FT..this is dead ball contact and a T. Since it actually occurred after 2nd FT it is live ball and ruled Excessive and thus Intentional
Last edited by The_Rookie; Fri Dec 18, 2015 at 11:46pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Was the girl just boxing her out and displaced her? For me it really has to be a windup hit on a box out for me to even consider a tech/intentional. |
|
|||
Not true. Otherwise we wouldn't have rule instructing us to ignore dead ball contact which isn't intentional or flagrant.
|
|
|||
Quote:
d. Excessive contact with an opponent while the ball is live or until an airborne shooter returns to the floor It's even the only highlighted part of this rule. |
|
|||
Quote:
I believe officials are misusing the word excessive and why it was put into the rule book and highlighted for that matter. There's even a case book where there is a BLOCK and then contact. The foul is ruled intentional because the contact was excessive. Just because something is excessive, more than normal contact doesn't mean I'm calling anything on a dead ball. Now, there's a lot in the rules on when to call a dead ball technical for contact, and I don't think this was the intent of putting the word excessive on paper. I'm not saying excessive contact is an automatic pass. I am saying that ruling contact is excessive and an easy intentional during live ball doesn't mean I'm calling a tech during a dead ball. I don't see the connection between a live ball intentional due to excessive contact and there being a T on the same play in dead ball situation. I don't believe this statement can be used by itself as a reason for a T on the OPs play. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
And, in either case, if the contact was somehow before the FT Ended (see the rule on FTs to determine this), both are IP fouls. Rule 4 is your friend. |
|
|||
Quote:
You need to determine whether the FT was still in progress or over for the first attempt. For the second, you do the same, but realize that the ball remains live on an unsuccessful attempt. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Faking Being Fouled | APG | Basketball | 71 | Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:50am |
Fouled shooter recaptures ball | TriggerMN | Basketball | 27 | Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:42pm |
Fouled at End | footlocker | Basketball | 12 | Sun Jan 16, 2005 08:38pm |
Fouled out, not really | Nevadaref | Basketball | 48 | Mon Jun 07, 2004 09:21am |
Coach attends to fouled, injured shooter | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 30 | Mon May 12, 2003 05:03pm |