The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Dec 14, 2015, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member

Illegal sub?? (New Ref)

So, I'm new to the officiating world. I had a partner today that has been doing it for 3 years and is a little shaky. This is a middle school boys game. We resumed play with a throw in Team A only has 4 players AFTER the throw in. They start yelling we only have four players. So, a player runs off the bench and play continues. I look at my partner he doesn't look concerned. I searched the case book.. Can't find anything..
Old Mon Dec 14, 2015, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member

Welcome to the forum. There are a couple of questions that need to be answered. Did this take place after a timeout or after a routine substitution process? That will determine the proper application of the rule.See the following case plays:

10.1.9 SITUATION:

Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1 attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass.

RULING: A technical foul is immed*iately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.

10.3.2 SITUATION B: