![]() |
|
|
|||
Another doozie of a test question
Fellow officials,
B1 is attempting a throw-in from the end line after A1's made basket when A2 commits an intentional foul against B2. After B2's free throws, the throw-in for Team B may be anywhere along the end line. True False The rule says that after a made basket a team may run the baseline for the throw-in. Also, if a violation or foul happen near the baseline, the team maintains the ability to run the baseline. I am wanting to apply this logic to the question above but it doesn't state where the intentional foul occurred. Am I missing something here? Thanks for the assistance, pfan |
|
|||
Don't have my books with me, but it states "they may run the endline when the designated spot would be on the endline for violations and fouls *except for an intentional or flagrant*".
Last edited by Valley Man; Thu Dec 10, 2015 at 01:26pm. |
|
|||
The NF uses concise verbiage. Thus when the NF says "...team can make the throw in anywhere along the endline"--it literally means that they can run the endline, yes.
However, what you are asking is this: Does the location of the IF (intentional foul) dictate the throw-in area---if say the IF occurred near the division line while A1 was attempting to make the throw-in from the endline. Does this change the the throw-in area away from the endline and newly positions it near the division line instead? Is that what you are asking? |
|
|||
Quote:
(and the ensuing throw in spot would be on the end line) Last edited by BigCat; Thu Dec 10, 2015 at 01:51pm. |
|
|||
Doh I didn't read the OP. Yes common foul only. That would make it FALSE. Because it won't be anywhere it would be somewhere.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
7.5.7 SitB reads.....
Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the made basket, then proceeds out of bounds to start the throw-in process. B1 runs along the end line out of bounds while attempting to find an open teammate for the throw-in. Immediately after B1 releases the throw-in pass, (a) the ball is kicked by A2 near the end line; (b) the ball is kicked by A2 near the division line; Ruling in (a) and (b), A2 violated by kicking the ball. In (a) team B will be awarded a throw-in and retain the right to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. In (b), Team B will put the ball in play at the designated spot nearest the violation. A violation near the end line will maintain the ability to run the baseline. 7.5.7 Sit C Reads..... Team B has scored a field goal and A 2 has the ball along the end line for a throw-in. Team A is not in the bonus. Prior to the ball being thrown inbounds by A1: (a) B1 fouls A2 near A1; (b) B1 fouls A2 at the division line Ruling: In (a) Team A may throw-in from anywhere out of bounds along the end line following the foul reporting. In (b) the ball will be given to Team A for a throw-in from the spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred. Can someone point me to the place in the rulebook where it states that an intentional foul supersedes these? I am always wanting to learn and improve and appreciate what this forum has done for my officiating. |
|
|||
Quote:
The NFHS accomplished this change by inserting the word common in 7-5-7. I don't like the "new" ruling. I prefer that the offended team didn't lose any privileges due to illegal actions of the opponent. |
|
|||
I wonder what the logic was for adding the term "Common" and changing the rule? However, if I were a coach I would give running the end line everyday for an opportunity to shoot two with the lane cleared.
__________________
"The soldier is the army." -General George S. Patton, Jr. |
|
|||
The logic was that team B received 2 FTs as part of the penalty for the IF and that plus possession was enough. They didn't need the right to run too. Plus, it is no longer after a made basket. It is after FTs were taken on the other end.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA test question | CecilOne | Softball | 27 | Mon Apr 18, 2016 08:32pm |
Old test question | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 1 | Sat Oct 29, 2011 02:18am |
FED Test Question 68 | Wisscott | Basketball | 2 | Thu Nov 09, 2006 07:38am |
Test Question | cford | Basketball | 18 | Thu Nov 11, 2004 08:00pm |
Jim's Test Question #2 | SJoldguy | Football | 12 | Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:37pm |