View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2015, 04:04pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by pfan1981 View Post
Fellow officials,

B1 is attempting a throw-in from the end line after A1's made basket when A2 commits an intentional foul against B2. After B2's free throws, the throw-in for Team B may be anywhere along the end line.

True

False


The rule says that after a made basket a team may run the baseline for the throw-in. Also, if a violation or foul happen near the baseline, the team maintains the ability to run the baseline. I am wanting to apply this logic to the question above but it doesn't state where the intentional foul occurred.

Am I missing something here?

Thanks for the assistance,

pfan
The answer is currently false for NFHS rules. This was changed about five years ago without any comment or rationale given. I recall first seeing it in the annual online interps, then it made its way to the case book.

The NFHS accomplished this change by inserting the word common in 7-5-7.

I don't like the "new" ruling. I prefer that the offended team didn't lose any privileges due to illegal actions of the opponent.
Reply With Quote