![]() |
|
|
|||
ASA test question
Yes, I think better late than never.
Did we discuss ASA 2015 question 19 on this forum? If so, please tell me a key to search or a date. If not, please do, without stating the answer in the answer key, if you know it. 19. In the bottom of the seventh inning of a tie game, an unreported substitute for B1 is batting and on the first pitch hits a home run. Before the umpires leave the playing field, the defense notifies the umpires that B1’s substitute did not report. The umpire should rule: a.) B1’s substitute is officially in the game, the run is nullified and B1 is declared out. b.) B1’s substitute’s run counts because there is no penalty for an unreported substitute and the game is over. c.) B1 substitute’s is declared out but the run counts and the game is over. d.) None of the above.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Prab, Bret, Tom, ranger,
Please delete you responses to this post in the NFHS topic (unhijacked ?) Thank you!
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
To me, 4.6.c.1 and 4.6.c.3/4 are contradictory or at least inconsistent. The 4.6.c.1 says "all action stands", which seems to mean no outs can occur. RS 51 does not really clarify if the home run pitch makes the discovery "after a pitch" or whether calling the unreported sub out nullifies the hit/run.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
4.6.C is arranged in a progressive order
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
As long as the "B1" mentioned in answer a is the substitute B1 and not the original B1. According to 4.6.C.3 Effect 1 it is the substitute who is out. This is different than batting out of order where the player who was scheduled to bat is the one called out.
|
|
|||
What difference does it make?
|
|
|||
Words have meaning and as umpires we're supposed to be using rulebook language. Choice A is almost correct, and given that the test also offers choice D, which one is most correct?
Last edited by Crabby_Bob; Mon Apr 11, 2016 at 11:08am. |
|
|||
The sub has to be out to nullify the hit/run.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fed test question: | Ref1973 | Football | 22 | Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:36pm |
Old test question | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 1 | Sat Oct 29, 2011 02:18am |
07-08 Test Question | flaref0812 | Basketball | 14 | Mon Oct 29, 2007 06:53pm |
ASA Test Question | mcrowder | Softball | 7 | Mon Feb 28, 2005 06:42pm |
Question RE: Fed Test | 1231234 | Softball | 3 | Fri Feb 25, 2005 09:13am |