The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
There used to be a case play about a player who gained control of a rebound with both feet on the floor and then jumped into the air. Since he had not yet established a pivot foot, the question was can he legally land.
The ruling was no and the explanation was that one of his feet must be considered a pivot when he becomes airborne.

The airborne ruling would apply to your situation too. Once a player becomes airborne, he must pass or shoot, unless he executes a proper jump stop.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 06:06pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Airborne ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There used to be a case play about a player who gained control of a rebound with both feet on the floor and then jumped into the air. Since he had not yet established a pivot foot, the question was can he legally land. The ruling was no and the explanation was that one of his feet must be considered a pivot when he becomes airborne. The airborne ruling would apply to your situation too. Once a player becomes airborne, he must pass or shoot, unless he executes a proper jump stop.
Sounds good Nevadaref. Thanks.

Do you have any citations to support your interpretation?

Keep in mind, that unlike your rebounder situation, my situation has the player with an already established, and identified, pivot foot, that stays in the air (off the floor) within legal limits. My question deals with the non-pivot foot.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 02, 2015 at 06:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 06:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
Hop = Jump

4-44-3b

If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 06:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Pick A Prize From The Top Shelf ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gslefeb View Post
4-44-3b: If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
Bingo. Thanks.

Is this the old "up and down" violation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 02, 2015 at 08:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Since you and your engineering pals wish to discuss hopping on one foot plays...

A1 receives an inbounds pass from his teammate while in Team A's backcourt. He dribbles to the division line and proceeds to hop up and down on his right foot while continuing to dribble. In this manner he crosses the division line and enters the FT semicircle in the frontcourt. At this point he turns around and returns to the backcourt while continuing to dribble and hop only on his right foot. This entire process takes eight seconds.

Has A1 committed any violation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
Hip Hop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Since you and your engineering pals wish to discuss hopping on one foot plays...

A1 receives an inbounds pass from his teammate while in Team A's backcourt. He dribbles to the division line and proceeds to hop up and down on his right foot while continuing to dribble. In this manner he crosses the division line and enters the FT semicircle in the frontcourt. At this point he turns around and returns to the backcourt while continuing to dribble and hop only on his right foot. This entire process takes eight seconds.

Has A1 committed any violation?
I am going with a 10 second violation.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
I am going with a 10 second violation.
The situation specified that the entire process takes 8 seconds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What am I missing here? kbilla Basketball 4 Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:45pm
What am I missing? TexBlue Softball 13 Sat Aug 13, 2005 09:27pm
Missing the bag... gobux Softball 2 Wed Jun 23, 2004 04:51am
Am I missing something? TruBlu Softball 49 Sat Aug 30, 2003 06:57am
What is missing? fletch_irwin_m Basketball 11 Sat Sep 21, 2002 10:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1