The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 05:51pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
If you didn't really care, you wouldn't keep arguing. And if the case play that OKREF posted was irrelevant to the original discussion, why did you respond saying that it didn't go with the rule?
The case play I referenced is irrelevant to the original question. I was just pointing out that what he said about a touch was not 100% correct. That's all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 05:58pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
The case play I referenced is irrelevant to the original question. I was just pointing out that what he said about a touch was not 100% correct. That's all.
Why is it not 100% correct? If you have not established TC, you do not gain control by a touch. On a throw-in you still have to gain TC which starts by PC.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:07pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Nevermind.

Last edited by OKREF; Sun Nov 08, 2015 at 06:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:11pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Rut, the above highlighted statement you made is not 100% accurate. When dealing with the throw in yes it is, but the case play shows another scenario where simply touching the ball in the FC is TC.
The TC was when A1 was dribbling in the backcourt. TC was maintained through the touch in the FC and the ball returning to the BC. TC was not established by touching the ball in the FC.

If A1 had been dribbling in the BC, lost the ball into the FC, it was touched by B2, then touched by A2, then bounded in the BC and retrieved by A1, it would still be a BC violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Nov 08, 2015 at 06:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The TC was when A1 was dribbling in the backcourt. TC was maintained through the touch in the FC and the ball returning to the BC. TC was not established by touching the ball in the FC.

If A1 had been dribbling in the BC, lost the ball into the FC, it was touched by B2, then touched by A2, then bounded in the BC and retrieved by A1, it would still be a BC violation.
When they say team control must be established in the FC they are saying that before you can have BC violation there must be team control in the FC. They are not saying that team control has to begin in the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:32pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The TC was when A1 was dribbling in the backcourt. TC was maintained through the touch in the FC and the ball returning to the BC. TC was not established by touching the ball in the FC.

If A1 had been dribbling in the BC, lost the ball into the FC, it was touched by B2, then touched by A2, then bounded in the BC and retrieved by A1, it would still be a BC violation.
And that also means that B did not gain TC by the touch either.

This is why I am completely lost by his point. It makes no sense to me.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:40pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
And that also means that B did not gain TC by the touch either.

This is why I am completely lost by his point. It makes no sense to me.

Peace
Rut, A5 has the ball in back court(which means they have team control) A5 passes the ball to A3 standing in the front court, the pass bounds off of A3's leg, hits B1 in the leg, A3 reaches for the ball and knocks the ball into the back court, A5 is the first to touch the ball in the back court.

This is a backcourt violation, Team A still had team control because team B never possessed the ball. Team A was last to touch in front court and first to touch in back court.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:11pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Rut, the above highlighted statement you made is not 100% accurate. When dealing with the throw in yes it is, but the case play shows another scenario where simply touching the ball in the FC is TC.
Again, we were talking about a Throw-in, that is why the statement was made. And the statement was only about a throw-in. But since we you want to pick nits, I will wait for why it is not 100% correct.

But you still have to have TC which can cross the BC to the FC.

I am not seeing at all your point. You have not stated why it is not correct. If it isn't correct, what about it is not correct?

If you are trying to suggest that having the ball in the BC and having TC has anything to do with a touch on a pass in the FC, then you really are stretching what I said. Then again, this is your point of view that often comes from weird places IMO.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:33pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
You also need to read Rule 9-9 that says very clearly:



You do not have TC in the FC by touching the basketball. You have to first possess the basketball to establish TC in the FC. A throw-in only has TC out of bounds, which is not apart of the rule to have a BC violation.

If you read your own reference in 4-12-2a, that says:



Ending a throw-in does not automatically establish TC or even player control.

Peace
Rut, I read this as you saying there had to be a player possessing the the ball in the FC. Yes you must first possess the ball. This possession could happen in the BC. Then when the ball is passed from BC to FC and A only touches the ball, and goes BC and A touches it it's a BC. Please remember, I am not talking about a throw in.

Last edited by OKREF; Sun Nov 08, 2015 at 06:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:41pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Rut, I read this as you saying there had to be a player possessing the the ball in the FC.
Really??

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Yes you must first possess the ball.
Duh!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
This possession could happen in the BC.
OK, but we were only talking about a throw-in as it relates to the ball being tapped and bouncing around from the FC to the BC. This would not apply if the throw-in pass was touched in the BC first or only.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Not talking about a throw in at all. We are actually in agreement, I think, and I read it wrong.
Yes you did. We never were talking about any other kind of situation. That is why I am confused as to why you are trying to hold on to what is or is not 100% correct.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:45pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Really??



Duh!!!



OK, but we were only talking about a throw-in as it relates to the ball being tapped and bouncing around from the FC to the BC. This would not apply if the throw-in pass was touched in the BC first or only.



Yes you did. We never were talking about any other kind of situation. That is why I am confused as to why you are trying to hold on to what is or is not 100% correct.

Peace
These kinds of responses are why I will never, ever have any kind of respect for you. I just said I miss read what you typed and you come across like you do. There are a lot of people on here who, when they have something to say I really take it in a listen to, however you are certainly not one of them. It's all good though, have a great day.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Why is this thread still open? To watch a p*ssing match?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
The case play I referenced is irrelevant to the original question. I was just pointing out that what he said about a touch was not 100% correct. That's all.
No case play is 100% correct either. Many statements are contextual. You missed the context of the statement. Let it go.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 08, 2015, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No case play is 100% correct either. Many statements are contextual. You missed the context of the statement. Let it go.
What is this supposed to mean?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules BillyMac Basketball 29 Tue Jun 25, 2013 04:58pm
The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules BillyMac Basketball 65 Mon Dec 06, 2010 06:06pm
The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules chseagle Basketball 14 Sun Sep 19, 2010 06:59pm
Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules BillyMac Basketball 21 Sun May 11, 2008 03:45pm
Misunderstood basketball rules Art N Basketball 17 Wed Nov 14, 2001 03:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1