![]() |
|
|
|||
I'm still trying figure out how the new 10-second BC rule and its exceptions is related to a 5 second closely guarded count.
A closely guarded count doesn't get interrupted then resumed from the same point. Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Oct 21, 2015 at 01:34pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Precisely. Neither does a back court count if a time out is called. In each case, the team with ball gets exactly the same benefit from calling TO: a new count. I can be dribbling in the front court closely guarded and get relief from the 5 second count exactly the same as I can be dribbling in the back court and call time out to get relief from the 10 second count. (You added the ball going out of play to the scenario -- that is not a necessary component of the potential advantage of calling an excessive TO.) |
|
|||
Quote:
A technical foul on Team A doesn't reset the 10-second count...last I checked, after a technical foul, we don't resume the 5-second count where we ended.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Oct 21, 2015 at 02:53pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I say the time-out takes precedence, but as eyezen said, it worthy of an official interpretation from Art Hyland.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Wed Oct 21, 2015 at 03:11pm. |
|
|||
Clarification issued by Art Hyland 11/4
Do not reset
Play 3 - With 20 seconds to go in the second period, Team A is behind by 1 point. Team A has possession of the ball in the backcourt with 2 seconds remaining in the 10-second backcourt count and no timeouts remaining. A-1 requests and is granted a timeout which is an excessive timeout. The officials chargeTeam A with an administrative technical foul, administer the one free throw and allow Team A to take the timeout. On the ensuing throw-in, does Team A receive a reset of the 10-second backcourt count? Ruling - No, even though Team A was charged with an excessive timeout, it resulted in a technical foul against Team A and therefore Team A does not receive a reset of the 10 second backcourt count. (Rule 9-10) |
|
|||
Quote:
As long as it's in writing, I'm good with whatever. They need to add it to the case book next season though.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
10 Sec Backcourt Count | The_Rookie | Basketball | 13 | Thu Oct 22, 2015 09:13am |
Backcourt Count | The_Rookie | Basketball | 3 | Sun Oct 19, 2014 04:20pm |
Reset the ten second count? | missinglink | Basketball | 30 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 02:28pm |
backcourt count | ref5678 | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:14pm |
10 second backcourt count | brianp134 | Basketball | 18 | Fri Oct 22, 2004 06:22pm |