View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2015, 02:59pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Do not reset

Play 3
-
With 20 seconds to go in the second period, Team A is behind by 1 point. Team A has possession of the ball in the backcourt with 2 seconds remaining
in the 10-second backcourt count and no timeouts remaining.

A-1 requests and is granted a timeout which is an excessive timeout. The officials chargeTeam A with an administrative technical foul, administer the one free throw and allow Team A to take the timeout. On the ensuing throw-in, does Team A receive a reset of the 10-second backcourt count?

Ruling
-
No, even though Team A was charged with an excessive timeout, it resulted in a technical foul against Team A and therefore Team A does not receive a reset of the 10 second backcourt count.
(Rule 9-10)
Wow, that's funny. I sent him an email on the scenario stating that I would reset the 10-second count and he told me I was correct. Guess they went back for further review on this one.

As long as it's in writing, I'm good with whatever. They need to add it to the case book next season though.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote