The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 21, 2015, 02:49pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
Precisely. Neither does a back court count if a time out is called. In each case, the team with ball gets exactly the same benefit from calling TO: a new count. I can be dribbling in the front court closely guarded and get relief from the 5 second count exactly the same as I can be dribbling in the back court and call time out to get relief from the 10 second count. (You added the ball going out of play to the scenario -- that is not a necessary component of the potential advantage of calling an excessive TO.)
We're specifically talking about an excessive time-out, not just a regular time-out. So tell me again how the 2 are related. We're past the elementary part of the rule that allows a team to call a time-out and reset the 10-second count.

A technical foul on Team A doesn't reset the 10-second count...last I checked, after a technical foul, we don't resume the 5-second count where we ended.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Oct 21, 2015 at 02:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 21, 2015, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
We're specifically talking about an excessive time-out, not just a regular time-out. So tell me again how the 2 are related. We're past the elementary part of the rule that allows a team to call a time-out and reset the 10-second count.

A technical foul on Team A doesn't reset the 10-second count...last I checked, after a technical foul, we don't resume the 5-second count where we ended.
In both cases, a team can choose (in theory) to lose possession, or to give up two FTs and keep possession. There might be a case where the latter is preferable. Some might consider it a loophole that needs to be closed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 21, 2015, 03:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In both cases, a team can choose (in theory) to lose possession, or to give up two FTs and keep possession. There might be a case where the latter is preferable. Some might consider it a loophole that needs to be closed.
It's not 2 free throws Bob, it's now just 1. All Class-B's are now just 1 shot. And one of the exceptions to not resetting the 10-second count is a technical foul on Team-A. So which takes precedence, the offensive time-out or the technical?

I say the time-out takes precedence, but as eyezen said, it worthy of an official interpretation from Art Hyland.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Oct 21, 2015 at 03:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2015, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Clarification issued by Art Hyland 11/4

Do not reset

Play 3
-
With 20 seconds to go in the second period, Team A is behind by 1 point. Team A has possession of the ball in the backcourt with 2 seconds remaining
in the 10-second backcourt count and no timeouts remaining.

A-1 requests and is granted a timeout which is an excessive timeout. The officials chargeTeam A with an administrative technical foul, administer the one free throw and allow Team A to take the timeout. On the ensuing throw-in, does Team A receive a reset of the 10-second backcourt count?

Ruling
-
No, even though Team A was charged with an excessive timeout, it resulted in a technical foul against Team A and therefore Team A does not receive a reset of the 10 second backcourt count.
(Rule 9-10)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2015, 02:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Do not reset

Play 3
-
With 20 seconds to go in the second period, Team A is behind by 1 point. Team A has possession of the ball in the backcourt with 2 seconds remaining
in the 10-second backcourt count and no timeouts remaining.

A-1 requests and is granted a timeout which is an excessive timeout. The officials chargeTeam A with an administrative technical foul, administer the one free throw and allow Team A to take the timeout. On the ensuing throw-in, does Team A receive a reset of the 10-second backcourt count?

Ruling
-
No, even though Team A was charged with an excessive timeout, it resulted in a technical foul against Team A and therefore Team A does not receive a reset of the 10 second backcourt count.
(Rule 9-10)
Wow, that's funny. I sent him an email on the scenario stating that I would reset the 10-second count and he told me I was correct. Guess they went back for further review on this one.

As long as it's in writing, I'm good with whatever. They need to add it to the case book next season though.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Sec Backcourt Count The_Rookie Basketball 13 Thu Oct 22, 2015 09:13am
Backcourt Count The_Rookie Basketball 3 Sun Oct 19, 2014 04:20pm
Reset the ten second count? missinglink Basketball 30 Mon Feb 20, 2006 02:28pm
backcourt count ref5678 Basketball 2 Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:14pm
10 second backcourt count brianp134 Basketball 18 Fri Oct 22, 2004 06:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1