The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2015, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Thanks folks

Thank you for the replies folks.
These are pickup games, so there are 10 refs on the court, none with whistles.

I have read the pertinent NCAA rules and I used to coach HS ball in the 90's.
Which means I am just smart enough to be very stupid.
I don't see where such a tactic is illegal.

Is it illegal for the player to extend their stomach forward to make FIRST contact?
It doesn't violate the first NFHS legal guarding quote above (the feet are set, the defender is facing the offensive player).
The NFHS maintaining a legal guarding quote does have a possible violation:
c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.
However, the stomach moving forward is actually PRIOR to first contact. After that, the defender does not repeatedly hammer the other player with their stomach. The player is not moving forward when MAINTAINING their guarding position.


To me, the key points are that the defender is facing the offensive player, and the defender has set their feet. When the two players contact, they meet "in the numbers", meaning that the defender is not moving laterally into the path of the offensive player. Additionally, the defender is not leaning side-to-side. However, the defender is leaning forward (from the feet up to the waist). The defender's arms are back and never in contact.

I don't think it is illegal for the defender's stomach to be moving forward to establish the first point of contact.

In my league days, I instructed my players in this tactic. We didn't get an inordinate number of whistles.

If this is a charging or blocking foul, what exactly is the defender doing that is illegal?


Thanks again,

Last edited by SubPlayer; Fri Oct 09, 2015 at 08:50am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2015, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
I assume you think you are getting some advantage from this tactic, as opposed to just standing there and accepting the contact from the offensive player.

To the extent that is true, then you must be moving forward, outside your "cylinder". That makes it a block.

If you are just "trying" this tactic but don't really execute it and move forward, then it's legal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2015, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
"Bellying-up"

Also check the section on verticality. (4-45-6) It mentions something to the effect "bellying-up" into the opponent (extending beyond defender's vertical plane) is a foul.

Last edited by billyu2; Fri Oct 09, 2015 at 02:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2015, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 270
Based on what you wrote, it sounds like you are committing a blocking foul...nobody here can know for sure without seeing the play.

However, if you keep getting fouls called when you take these approaches there is a really good chance the officials working your games consider your actions to be in violation of the rules and, as a result, deem a foul has been committed. Therefore you are left with two options...foul out of games and/or see you playing time limited or learn a better way to play defense.

I do applaud you for wanting to learn more about the rules of the game and their application.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2015, 10:43am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubPlayer View Post
I have read the pertinent NCAA rules and I used to coach HS ball in the 90's.
Which means I am just smart enough to be very stupid.
Just being able to admit that makes you smarter than a large majority of coaches/players out there, especially in the wreck leagues.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2015, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
Why are you 'bellying up' trying to play post defense? Why not just play defense the normal and effective way---arms up extended in your vertical cylinder, and moving laterally with A1?
Reminds me of B1 "playing defense with their face"---when they are lurching forward with their face in direct intrusion of A1's rightful vertical column.

Then they get their get a nasal or orbital fracture as a result of 'encroaching' into A1's vertical space--and to add lemon juice and salt to an open the wound--I as a referee would call a blocking or hitting foul on that injured player.

Last edited by Kansas Ref; Fri Oct 09, 2015 at 02:28pm. Reason: spellings
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 19, 2015, 05:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubPlayer View Post
Thank you for the replies folks.
These are pickup games, so there are 10 refs on the court, none with whistles.

I have read the pertinent NCAA rules and I used to coach HS ball in the 90's.
Which means I am just smart enough to be very stupid.
I don't see where such a tactic is illegal.

Is it illegal for the player to extend their stomach forward to make FIRST contact?
It doesn't violate the first NFHS legal guarding quote above (the feet are set, the defender is facing the offensive player).
The NFHS maintaining a legal guarding quote does have a possible violation:
c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.
However, the stomach moving forward is actually PRIOR to first contact. After that, the defender does not repeatedly hammer the other player with their stomach. The player is not moving forward when MAINTAINING their guarding position.


To me, the key points are that the defender is facing the offensive player, and the defender has set their feet. When the two players contact, they meet "in the numbers", meaning that the defender is not moving laterally into the path of the offensive player. Additionally, the defender is not leaning side-to-side. However, the defender is leaning forward (from the feet up to the waist). The defender's arms are back and never in contact.

I don't think it is illegal for the defender's stomach to be moving forward to establish the first point of contact.

In my league days, I instructed my players in this tactic. We didn't get an inordinate number of whistles.

If this is a charging or blocking foul, what exactly is the defender doing that is illegal?


Thanks again,

Sent from my SGH-T399 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 23, 2015, 12:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Sounds like a block to me. Extending your belly in front if you (your feet) is not a legal defensive position.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 23, 2015, 12:58pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Sounds like a block to me. Extending your belly in front if you (your feet) is not a legal defensive position.

I guess that I have not had a LGP in many a year, .

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 23, 2015, 11:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I guess that I have not had a LGP in many a year, .

MTD, Sr.
Ok, extending it more than it naturally does when standing upright.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
Are you'all Calling this a hand-chek or no?

A1 has/is holding the ball at the 28 ft lined marked area in A1's frontcourt, B1 comes out to guard A1. B1 establishes LGP, but extends arm out to just barely touch A1--in sort of the appearance of "measuring" the distance btw A1 and B1. THen A1 starts a dribble and B1 removes hand from A1 and shuffles feet in the normal defensive posture.

Do you guys call a foul on that first contact"?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 12:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Ref View Post
A1 has/is holding the ball at the 28 ft lined marked area in A1's frontcourt, B1 comes out to guard A1. B1 establishes LGP, but extends arm out to just barely touch A1--in sort of the appearance of "measuring" the distance btw A1 and B1. THen A1 starts a dribble and B1 removes hand from A1 and shuffles feet in the normal defensive posture.

Do you guys call a foul on that first contact"?

Nope. We were told the "hot stove" is OK.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Ref View Post
A1 has/is holding the ball at the 28 ft lined marked area in A1's frontcourt, B1 comes out to guard A1. B1 establishes LGP, but extends arm out to just barely touch A1--in sort of the appearance of "measuring" the distance btw A1 and B1. THen A1 starts a dribble and B1 removes hand from A1 and shuffles feet in the normal defensive posture.

Do you guys call a foul on that first contact"?
The defender is allowed one "hot stove" touch -- whether the offensive player is holding the ball or dribbling.

It sounds like that's what you described -- no foul (and LGP has nothing to do with this).
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2015, 05:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Freedom Of Movement ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Ref View Post
Do you guys call a foul on that first contact"?
Freedom Of Movement: The following acts constitute a foul when committed against a ball handler/dribbler, which includes post players:
a. Placing two hands on the player.
b. Placing an extended arm bar on the player.
c. Placing and keeping a hand on the player.
d. Contacting the player more than once with the same hand or alternating hands.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iona/Manhattan: Blocking foul JetMetFan Basketball 11 Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:48pm
Michigan/Indiana: Blocking Foul (Valentine call in 2nd half) JetMetFan Basketball 15 Wed Feb 06, 2013 04:43pm
Procedure after Blocking Foul and then Double Technical MajorCord Basketball 15 Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:31pm
Player control/Blocking foul? GoodKolbeMan Basketball 34 Sat Oct 07, 2006 05:44pm
Backwards blocking foul Jimgolf Basketball 6 Fri Dec 17, 2004 02:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1