The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 03, 2003, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
OBR
Everything the pitcher was doing was legal (looking over his shoulder, turning his shoulder, fixing his hat, swinging his arm back and forth) while he was in his "stretch." None of these are considered part of his pitching motion. Even though he wasn't really stretching very much (usually you see F1 bent way over forward) he still has not come to his "set" where all those actions mentioned above would be a BALK with runner(s) on base.

The mistake he made was "throwing or feinting a throw" to a base without first stepping toward that base. He has BALKED by not stepping first. This is a blatant BALK and you called it right by your instincts and knowledge. Hearing it yelled out by someone may have "reminded" you, but YOU still had to call it. Ignore what the coach says since he doesn't know what he is talking about.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1