![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I feel like I'm being baited...
And I worry this is going to go south soon... but........Yes, a batted ball that is not a foul tip, which is caught before it hits the ground, is an out. At any level, in any code, baseball or softball. If you disagree, quote a rule ... and quote one that doesn't simply say that it's not a foul tip. A ball caught by F9 near the bat girl is also not a foul tip.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
OBR 2.00:
A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession. Sounds like once the ball is no longer in flight or if you use your uniform to gain secure possession, like it's lodged between your pants and your shirt, it is not a catch. I always thought it was getting secure possession before touching the ground. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]() I suppose this is my fault. Promising not to bring up an argument, and then only bringing up part of it. I don't want to again beat the horse we've killed so thoroughly in the past. And I hope I can refrain from responding to this one again after this post. (Fat chance, right?) But my OPINION that this should be an out is solely rules based. My OPINION is that it SHOULD be an out, based on the rules themselves. I recognize that JR has an interpretation that says it's not, and while I contend that their interpretation is not supported at all by the rules, I will call it their way on the field. Fed has actually done the best job on this one, as they at least created an AR for it. The AR is not supported by rule either, but at least it's in the book as officially "approved". I don't believe either main softball code has addressed this. I don't believe NCAA baseball or softball have either, although I confess my NCAA baseball knowledge is the weakest among all the rulesets. I believe the foul tip rule was created so that we are to treat a ball that was touched by the bat so slightly that it caused nearly no change in the ball's trajectory as if it was not touched by the bat at all. I don't believe the foul tip rule was meant to be warped to create this no-mans-land of a fouled batted ball that cannot be caught for an out. I also recognize that I'm in the extreme minority in that opinion.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I think it was. I think that this is part of the evolution from hand-outs on one bounce to catchers needing to catch a pitch. Without this, catchers could block this type of ball with their body and catch it on the rebound for an out.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
1. F2 caught the ball it appears. I am confused by the mechanic, pointing with index on right hand, I thought we signal no catch with a safe sign and verbalize no catch, so even if PU thought he did not catch the ball, the mechanic is confusing.
2. No KO, since the batted ball did not go directly to the mitt first. Can't blame the PU though because he does not have a good view of the stealthy move to secure the ball into the mitt. 3. 1b occupied, but even if not, isn't the rule now that if batter moves outside the circle around the plate now without attempting to go to 1b he is out? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I believe the key phrase to the rule is "sharp and direct". If the ball nicks the bat and goes "sharp and direct" it can be one of two things.
1. If it first hits the glove or hand and is held, it is a foul tip. If it is not held, it is a foul ball. 2. If it first hits anything but the glove or hand, it is foul. So the call in #2 was wrong. I recall having read somewhere that if the ball hits the hand or glove, then hits the catcher's chest protector and rebounds to his glove and is held, that would also be a foul tip. Last edited by Mrumpiresir; Wed Jul 09, 2014 at 11:41pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No, I would not. Because the people I work for tell me not to. But yes - I think that should be a catch. It's just not.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I stand corrected.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Swinging Strike Three Punch Out? | tjones1 | Baseball | 3 | Fri Aug 27, 2010 04:40pm |
| Swinging 3rd Strike Dead Ball | njdevs00cup | Baseball | 4 | Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:53pm |
| Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike | bfoster | Baseball | 19 | Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm |
| Swinging Strike Mechanic | nickrego | Baseball | 6 | Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:37am |
| Swinging 3rd Strike Call | nickrego | Baseball | 40 | Sun May 28, 2006 11:18pm |