![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Suppose after the base switch, the pitcher delivers the pitch, the batter singles to knock home the lead runner from second, and the trail runner moves to second. The DC comes out and protests that the runner at second was originally the lead runner, and you verify that fact by checking your lineup card. Would you allow the run? Would you require a do-over? Quote:
Also, ASA Softball has this in its rule book under the "Runner is Out" section, 8-7: Y. When base runners switch positions on the bases they occupied following any conference. EFFECT: Each runner on an improper base shall be declared out. In addition, the manager shall be ejected for unsportsmanlike conduct. And in the NCAA Softball rule book, you'll find this under section 12.5, the "Base Runner is Out after a Proper Appeal" section: 12.5.3 When, after a conference, base runners switch positions on the bases they occupied, the ball has been put back in play, and before the end of the half-inning. EFFECT—Each base runner on the improper base shall be declared out and ejected. In addition, the head coach shall be ejected for unsportsmanlike behavior. (Behavioral ejections.) I find it interesting that NCAA Softball requires an appeal for this. I'm willing to bet there's similar language in other softball rule books (PONY, USSSA, etc.) Why it's all over the place in softball, but not in baseball is beyond me. In my experience, baseball has more incidents of this kind of unsporting crap than the girls' game.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But let's say it somehow happens. The one thing I can tell you is that I'm still ejecting. I don't know if I would let it stand or if I would have a do-over. Is there a case play for, say, the defense playing the first batter with 10 on the field and getting an out? If there is, I would use the same principle.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The switched places scenario is more readily verifiable - especially if only one runner scored and the other (wrong) one is still on base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
R2, R3, one out. Double (potential triple) to right. R2, after rounding third, starts to go back to second, thinking the ball was caught. Throw comes to third while both BR and R2 are between second and third. Somehow, in the jumble, BR ends up on third and R2 ends up on second. You don't catch it, and the defense doesn't either (hey, they're just happy only one run scored.) After the next batter singles and advances both, DC has the light-bulb moment. Can you go back and fix it? I say no.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Speaking of light-bulb moments, I just had it!
You can get outs on the switch, but not how FED wants it. If the offense had a conference, and came out if it with two brand new runners, we would call it a substitution (unannounced, potentially.) I think if they do the switch with existing runners, we have two illegal substitutions. Bam! Both are out and restricted.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If this situation arises, I will definitely use this. Go ahead and protest, bitch. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Why not? Probably the most common illegal sub is when both players are in the lineup. The DH goes on defense without his defensive counterpart coming out.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| This happened to me last night | rwest | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 09:27am |
| It happened again last night...... | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 14 | Tue Oct 28, 2003 08:19pm |
| Bush League Play | TwoBits | Baseball | 12 | Thu May 01, 2003 06:58am |
| It happened last night | Camron Rust | Basketball | 18 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 10:13am |
| It happened last night | ranjo | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 16, 2002 08:55pm |