The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
IF there was a tag attempt or the like, that would be an intervening play. Otherwise the runner returns. Just crossing the plate is not an intervening play.

Rita
There is always a tag attempt or the like on any double play. I believe the intervening play ruling only applies to the running lane interference example.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2013, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
OBR Rule 2: Interference - Comment A refers to a squeeze play, wherein R3 attempts to score, the defense makes a play on R3, R3 is safe and then the defense attempts to retire the BR at 1st base and THEN you have 3 foot lane interference.

Had the initial throw gone to 1st base to retire BR and R3 had crossed home plate at the time of the interference, R3 would be returned to 3rd base.

With the exception explained in comment A, MLB does not allow runners to advance when the BR is called out for interference. Some may recall A-Rod slapping the ball out of Arroyo's glove in game 6 of the ALCS between the Yankees and Redsox in 2004. All six umpires got together to change the call (2013 wasn't the first time this happened, despite the idiot commentators' statements). Jeter had already rounded 2nd base at the time of the interference. He ultimately scored when the ball ended up in the outfield and A-Rod made it to 2nd base. A-Rod was declared out and Jeter was returned to 1st base.

Randy Marsh had good positioning on the play to see a swipe tag. Unfortunately, another Red Sox cut between him and Arroyo and Marsh lost sight of the ball. I was surprised that Torre argued as long as he did. Torre, just like Girardi, was terrible at picking arguments and knowing when to end them.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2013, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
There is always a tag attempt or the like on any double play. I believe the intervening play ruling only applies to the running lane interference example.
Intervening play also applies in some codes to the rules regarding a ball thrown out of play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2013, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Intervening play also applies in some codes to the rules regarding a ball thrown out of play.
I'm not aware of any "intervening play" application for a ball thrown out of play other than the second play by an infielder. Is that what you are referring to?

Back to the intervening play and INT:

I think its important to understand that the OBR intervening play only refers to RLI after a play at home. Unfortunately, the NCAA AR does not make that clear. "A.R. 2—If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of interference, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch. If there was an intervening play made on another runner, all runners shall return to the base last touched at the time of interference."

For example: Bases loaded, no outs, grounder to the infield and throw home (intervening play?) does not get the fast R3 who then sneaks a grab at F2 causing him to airmail the throw. R3 and the BR are called out for INT. Where do you place R1 and R2?

Or: R1, R3, no outs. Grounder to F4, throw to 2B doesn't get R1 (intervening play?) who then grabs F5's arm as he tries to throw to 1B. R1 and BR are out. Where do you place R3?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2013, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
I'm not aware of any "intervening play" application for a ball thrown out of play other than the second play by an infielder. Is that what you are referring to?

Back to the intervening play and INT:

I think its important to understand that the OBR intervening play only refers to RLI after a play at home. Unfortunately, the NCAA AR does not make that clear. "A.R. 2—If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of interference, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch. If there was an intervening play made on another runner, all runners shall return to the base last touched at the time of interference."

For example: Bases loaded, no outs, grounder to the infield and throw home (intervening play?) does not get the fast R3 who then sneaks a grab at F2 causing him to airmail the throw. R3 and the BR are called out for INT. Where do you place R1 and R2?

Or: R1, R3, no outs. Grounder to F4, throw to 2B doesn't get R1 (intervening play?) who then grabs F5's arm as he tries to throw to 1B. R1 and BR are out. Where do you place R3?
The FPSR makes it clear that runners are returned TOP for these violations.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2013, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The FPSR makes it clear that runners are returned TOP for these violations.
I agree in FED and NCAA the FPSR does this. But my examples don't have a FPSR violation. So absent that, (humor me) where do you place the runners? I would use the 2.00(a) comment to return them TOP but would someone argue intervening play?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2013, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
I'm not aware of any "intervening play" application for a ball thrown out of play other than the second play by an infielder. Is that what you are referring to?
Isn't that exactly the same thing? Yes, that's what I'm referring to.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 02, 2013, 01:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
There is always a tag attempt or the like on any double play. I believe the intervening play ruling only applies to the running lane interference example.
Which is what I was referring to. And the intervening play has to be on R3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running lane grimjack5150 Softball 7 Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm
Bunt foul with 2 strikes, running bobbrix Softball 3 Wed May 23, 2007 07:59am
Running Bunt EMD Baseball 7 Tue Jun 07, 2005 03:20pm
Running Lane englanj5 Baseball 13 Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:39pm
Running Lane Bandit Softball 2 Wed Apr 11, 2001 10:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1