The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2013, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
(Moved to a new thread ... had nothing to do with the obstruction play in the W.S.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2013, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
With the caveat that I didn't watch the video ....

Runners return to TOP in OBR (unless there was an intervening play) and to TOI in FED
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2013, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Runners return to TOP in OBR (unless there was an intervening play) and to TOI in FED
The intervening play in the OP was R3 scoring on the squeeze bunt before the RLI...score the run.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2013, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
The intervening play in the OP was R3 scoring on the squeeze bunt before the RLI...score the run.
A runner crossing a base is not, by definition, "a play" in the context of this rule.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2013, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
The intervening play in the OP was R3 scoring on the squeeze bunt before the RLI...score the run.
Not if the defense didn't play on R3 (again, I didn't watch the video, but the description in the OP seems to exclude any play on R3)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2013, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
The video was a play in last night's game. There was no RLI on that play.

The OP was speculating on whether it would be good strategy to throw at BR out of the RL if R3 is scoring on a suicide squeeze. I think I read the Interference comment wrong (mis-interpreted the word intervening).

So if R3 takes off, BR lays down the bunt, R3 crosses HP as fielder fields the bunt, then hits BR, who is out of the RL, with a throw to 1B , then R3 returns? In OBR yes, in Fed, no?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 29, 2013, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
The video was a play in last night's game. There was no RLI on that play.

The OP was speculating on whether it would be good strategy to throw at BR out of the RL if R3 is scoring on a suicide squeeze. I think I read the Interference comment wrong (mis-interpreted the word intervening).

So if R3 takes off, BR lays down the bunt, R3 crosses HP as fielder fields the bunt, then hits BR, who is out of the RL, with a throw to 1B , then R3 returns? In OBR yes, in Fed, no?
Runners return to TOP in OBR (unless there was an intervening play) and to TOI in FED
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Runners return to TOP in OBR (unless there was an intervening play) and to TOI in FED

Just to be clear, you are referring to the OP, where the BR has not reached 1B and the intervening play (added to the OP sit) ruling in the MLBUM allows the run to score even though the OBR 2(a) comment would require a return at TOP as opposed to TOI.
I think it is important to understand that the MLBUM ruling is specific to a runner scoring and a running lane INT.
As it is , every double play has an intervening play but we return the runners TOP because of the 2(a) comment if we have a thrown ball INT.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 07:02am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
The intervening play in the OP was R3 scoring on the squeeze bunt before the RLI...score the run.

False. See definition of a play.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
False. See definition of a play.
I have an understanding what a play is. My misunderstanding was in the definition of intervening and was which play was the intervening one (if there is one). You have a pitch (a play, I believe) a bunt (a play, I believe), a runner scoring (without a play, I beleive), and an interferred with throw to 1B (a play). After re-reading the interference comment, I believe the exception to not returning R3 is if there is an intervening play is between the bunt play and the interference play not between the pitch play and the interference play.

I find it interesting that the OBR rule makers intended to punish the team who RLI by returning R3, even though the interference occurs after R3 scores while the Fed rule makers intended the opposite. This is a rules diff that I always have a hard time remembering.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
I have an understanding what a play is. My misunderstanding was in the definition of intervening and was which play was the intervening one (if there is one). You have a pitch (a play, I believe) a bunt (a play, I believe), a runner scoring (without a play, I beleive), and an interferred with throw to 1B (a play). After re-reading the interference comment, I believe the exception to not returning R3 is if there is an intervening play is between the bunt play and the interference play not between the pitch play and the interference play.

I find it interesting that the OBR rule makers intended to punish the team who RLI by returning R3, even though the interference occurs after R3 scores while the Fed rule makers intended the opposite. This is a rules diff that I always have a hard time remembering.
A pitch is not a play. A bunt is not a play. You put a lie to your statement that you have an understanding of what a play is. There's a definition.

The easy (but not perfect) way to remember is generally, a play is an attempt to get someone out. You're making it harder than it needs to be by wondering if all these other things are plays and concerning yourself with what came between what.

The correct answer has been posted here a few times. The "intervening play" would come about if the fielder (for example) threw home first and then the catcher tried to get the out at first... THAT would be an intervening play, changing the ruling.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
If you're calling me a lier...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You put a lie to your statement...
First, I may be mistaken, but if you're calling me a lier, {deleted}.

Second, I had no idea what intervening meant in a baseball context, so I looked it up in my Funk & Wagnall. F&W didn't have a baseball context definition either, so I had to piece it together. Intervening means coming in between other things. So it made sense to me that the baseball context is that the intervening play comes in between other things...plays, pitches, whatever.

Third, I concurred that the answer to the OP question was that R3 returned. I agreed that R3 scoring wasn't an "intervening play". So WTF is your beef ?

Fourth, If you say that a play is an attempt to get someone out, how is a pitch not an attempt to get someone out and a not play. I know there is a "pitch or play" reference in the RB. Is that the only cite? And why does the squeeze play definition use the word play?

Last edited by bluehair; Wed Oct 30, 2013 at 11:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluehair View Post
The intervening play in the OP was R3 scoring on the squeeze bunt before the RLI...score the run.
IF there was a tag attempt or the like, that would be an intervening play. Otherwise the runner returns. Just crossing the plate is not an intervening play.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2013, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
IF there was a tag attempt or the like, that would be an intervening play. Otherwise the runner returns. Just crossing the plate is not an intervening play.

Rita
There is always a tag attempt or the like on any double play. I believe the intervening play ruling only applies to the running lane interference example.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2013, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
OBR Rule 2: Interference - Comment A refers to a squeeze play, wherein R3 attempts to score, the defense makes a play on R3, R3 is safe and then the defense attempts to retire the BR at 1st base and THEN you have 3 foot lane interference.

Had the initial throw gone to 1st base to retire BR and R3 had crossed home plate at the time of the interference, R3 would be returned to 3rd base.

With the exception explained in comment A, MLB does not allow runners to advance when the BR is called out for interference. Some may recall A-Rod slapping the ball out of Arroyo's glove in game 6 of the ALCS between the Yankees and Redsox in 2004. All six umpires got together to change the call (2013 wasn't the first time this happened, despite the idiot commentators' statements). Jeter had already rounded 2nd base at the time of the interference. He ultimately scored when the ball ended up in the outfield and A-Rod made it to 2nd base. A-Rod was declared out and Jeter was returned to 1st base.

Randy Marsh had good positioning on the play to see a swipe tag. Unfortunately, another Red Sox cut between him and Arroyo and Marsh lost sight of the ball. I was surprised that Torre argued as long as he did. Torre, just like Girardi, was terrible at picking arguments and knowing when to end them.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running lane grimjack5150 Softball 7 Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm
Bunt foul with 2 strikes, running bobbrix Softball 3 Wed May 23, 2007 07:59am
Running Bunt EMD Baseball 7 Tue Jun 07, 2005 03:20pm
Running Lane englanj5 Baseball 13 Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:39pm
Running Lane Bandit Softball 2 Wed Apr 11, 2001 10:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1