|  | 
| 
 | |||||||
|  | 
|  | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			It could have been both. Or neither.   But, based on the video, they did get it right. And, I think BU is at the plate to talk to the manager and to make sure that PU knew that the game wasn't over. Or, maybe BU was running off and PU stopped him. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			From the MLBUM and PBUC: "Bases loaded, two out, score tied in the bottom of the ninth inning. Batter hits a home run out of the ballpark. Runner on first, thinking the home run wins the game, leaves the baseline and heads toward the dugout. The runner at first is declared out before the runner from third reaches home plate. Other runners continue around the bases and eventually touch home. Ruling: No runs score; the third out was made before the runner from third touched homeplate. Game continues in the top of the tenth inning with the score still tied." So end result the same in the OP, but, if you call abandonment on R1 and PU has R3 scoring before the out call the run should score. Except, can you still accept an appeal at 2B for a force out? Wendelstedt does not like the PBUC and MLBUM interps. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			On the premise that this third world stuff wouldn't happen to me (except in the LL games I umpire) I have been negligent in informing myself about the rules.  Now it has happened in a MiLB game and we don't know exactly how they ruled except the end result was proper. But if the BU ruled abandonment, as PBUC and MLBUM says they should, and the PU ruled "run scored" (not what happened in the OP) do we have game over and reset for a proper appeal or is the throw to 2B during "continuing action" a good appeal? I think abandonment in this particular situation might be grabbing the shitty end of the stick if the defense does what they did in the OP. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
   
				__________________ "Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 -Josh | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Not sure the ball was ever declared "dead" - the RF in the video is pointing over towards 2B where the SS is standing on the base with the ball looking for an umpire to make a call??? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			if the team wants to make an appeal, you do.  And, if there's some rule requirement that there be a batter, you ignore that part of it.
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 The MLBUM play that umpjim quoted has R1 failing to go to second base on an apparent walk-off grand slam with two outs. R1 is declared out for abandonment for the third out. The ruling on the play said that since the abandonment declaration happened before R3 touched home, R3's run doesn't count. Seems to me it shouldn't matter if the abandonment declaration happens before or after R3 touches home. The result of the call is what amounts to a force out, so when R3 touches is immaterial. Or so I thought. The MLBUM ruling makes it sound like this is a timing play. 
				__________________ "Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Runner must touch base? | SAump | Baseball | 8 | Sat Apr 14, 2012 12:09pm | 
| Rainy weather, triple plays, and extra innings. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Baseball | 32 | Mon May 09, 2011 08:07pm | 
| Runner returning to touch missed base | ncaaumpdj | Softball | 2 | Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:52am | 
| must obstructed runner physically touch base? | Tru_in_Blu | Softball | 18 | Sun Jan 17, 2010 05:13pm | 
| runner returning to touch base | shipwreck | Softball | 15 | Fri Mar 29, 2002 09:14am |