The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 04:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pullman, WA
Posts: 16
Runner returning to touch missed base

Here is a situation that has made me go hmmmmm?
NCAA ONLY:

(A)R1 rounds third base, R1 misses third base, and then is obstructed by F5 while going home. (obstruction did not cause R1 to miss 3rd) 3rd base coach yells at R1 to return to touch 3rd base. F6 runs and touches 3rd base with ball before R1 touches 3rd........now adding more to situation...... (B)While returning to 3rd base to touch missed base R1 is obstructed again by F5 intentionally to prevent her from touching 3rd or (C)unintentionally as F6 runs and touches 3rd for a live ball appeal before R1 retouches.


In (A) i would say the runner is out on live ball appeal. Using 9.3.3-9.3.3.6 which states:

9.3.3 An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where
she was obstructed unless one of the following occurs:
9.3.3.2 When another violation is being played upon.
A.R. 9.3.3.2: A runner who leaves second base too soon on a touched fly ball is
returning after the ball is caught and is obstructed between second and third base.
RULING: If the runner would not have returned safely to second base before the
throw arrived, she would remain out.

9.3.3.6 A proper appeal is made for missing a base.
A.R. 9.3.3.6: A runner who misses a base or leaves a base before a fly ball is first
touched and is obstructed while advancing would not be protected when returning to
the base missed or left too soon.

My main question is do we protect a runner who has been obstructed while returning to touch a missed base?(like in situation (B) and (C)

I believe the intent of 9.3.3.6 is to put the responsibility on the runner for missing the base and not protect her for not legally completing her base running responsibilities. But do we allow the defense to prevent her from touching a missed base? If yay or nay what rule supports it?
__________________
DJ Postle
NCAA ASA NFHS
"Close only counts in horseshoes, hand grenades, and the outside corner."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
must obstructed runner physically touch base? Tru_in_Blu Softball 18 Sun Jan 17, 2010 05:13pm
Passed Runner/Missed Base blueump Softball 20 Thu Apr 26, 2007 03:59pm
Missed re-touch of a base while retreating... Bluefoot Softball 6 Thu May 27, 2004 04:23pm
runner returning to touch base shipwreck Softball 15 Fri Mar 29, 2002 09:14am
Appeals missed base- tag/touch rex Baseball 3 Wed Aug 30, 2000 05:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1