The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Just because there are no runners doesn't mean the pitcher has to or is using windup.

Looks to me like they consider him in set, not windup, and all his shrug/step stuff is part of his natural motion that commits him to pitch. If so, it is legal.

As no one has called it on him all year, I'd go with the "deemed legal" thought.
That's a windup. He has a different set. Since your not complaining coach I don't have a problem with it. If you were complaining (which apparently hasn't happened in this players career) I'd tell you that you and I can tell the difference between his windup and set. Before FED wrapped itself around the axle about windup foot position we never enforced their rule as no one complained and you could always tell if a pitcher was in the windup or set by other clues. The NCAA verbiage is problematic though.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
That's a windup. He has a different set. Since your not complaining coach I don't have a problem with it. If you were complaining (which apparently hasn't happened in this players career) I'd tell you that you and I can tell the difference between his windup and set. Before FED wrapped itself around the axle about windup foot position we never enforced their rule as no one complained and you could always tell if a pitcher was in the windup or set by other clues. The NCAA verbiage is problematic though.
The rules say you have to be in one of two positions, and then the rules say what you can and cannot do when pitching from those positions.

NOTHING says you cannot use one set of motions from the set position with runners on, and another set of motions with no one on. What you're seeing in this video is a (somewhat unorthodox, but legal) set position.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The rules say you have to be in one of two positions, and then the rules say what you can and cannot do when pitching from those positions.

NOTHING says you cannot use one set of motions from the set position with runners on, and another set of motions with no one on. What you're seeing in this video is a (somewhat unorthodox, but legal) set position.
Interesting rationalization. Works for me. Can I use it in FED?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Interesting rationalization. Works for me. Can I use it in FED?
You could use that rationalization in FED, but this stance would be illegal in FED, as it's not a set by their rules.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Can't tell from the video (the 30 seconds or so that I watched) whether the entire free foot is entirely in front of the pivot foot.

Note that college essentially gives the pitcher about 12" farther forward in which to place the free foot, compared with NFHS.

And, I would agree, it's often ignored, especially with no runners. Now if there are runners, (specifically R3) and the runners might be affectged as not being able to tell whether the pitcher is in the wind-up or set, that might be a different issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Can't tell from the video (the 30 seconds or so that I watched) whether the entire free foot is entirely in front of the pivot foot.

Note that college essentially gives the pitcher about 12" farther forward in which to place the free foot, compared with NFHS.

And, I would agree, it's often ignored, especially with no runners. Now if there are runners, (specifically R3) and the runners might be affectged as not being able to tell whether the pitcher is in the wind-up or set, that might be a different issue.
CWS side view showed daylight between the two feet. This pitcher as with Cliff Lee you can tell which stance he is in, the windup or set, or as MDlonghorn says, the set or the other set.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You could use that rationalization in FED, but this stance would be illegal in FED, as it's not a set by their rules.
What FED set rule does this violate?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
What FED set rule does this violate?
Free foot must be on or behind a line through the front of the rubber (to be in the wind up).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Free foot must be on or behind a line through the front of the rubber (to be in the wind up).
But I'm calling it a set as per MDlonghorn and Rich Ives.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 11:18am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The rules say you have to be in one of two positions, and then the rules say what you can and cannot do when pitching from those positions.

NOTHING says you cannot use one set of motions from the set position with runners on, and another set of motions with no one on. What you're seeing in this video is a (somewhat unorthodox, but legal) set position.
It's not a set position.

It's a windup with the feet in the wrong position, a hybrid stance as defined by the NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 26, 2013, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
It's not a set position.

It's a windup with the feet in the wrong position, a hybrid stance as defined by the NFHS.
Can you direct me to that in the NCAA rulebook?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting Pitcher Replaced Returns DG Baseball 8 Wed May 18, 2011 07:01am
Starting pitcher reentering the game to pitch?? oyaisee Baseball 32 Thu Nov 08, 2007 05:57am
Starting Pitcher re-entry JeremyByrd Baseball 1 Tue Jun 12, 2007 08:17am
Starting, then stopping, the windup. Illini_Ref Baseball 31 Wed Mar 21, 2007 12:40pm
Starting a game tskill Baseball 14 Sun Apr 24, 2005 08:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1