![]() |
CWS game 2 starting pitcher windup?
Does not appear to be legal by NCAA rules. But, I think FED and NCAA should go with the MLBUM description of the windup so I have no problem with it. I just wish both would change their verbiage.
Edited to add: He double sets also but who cares. He sets at the bottom. |
Picture or video? Why was it illegal?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I don't think any of us can help with your question without a picture or (preferably) video. |
So he made all the way to the CWS final game using an illegal windup and no one called it?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
NICK VANDER TUIG PROSPECT VIDEO, RHP, UCLA - YouTube <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/6ipjkw9kwgA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Quote:
I watched about half of the video: loved the Jimi Hendrix playing in the background, :D. Under NFHS Rules: Illegal Pitch/Balk every time. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
"a. The Windup. The pitcher shall stand facing (shoulders squared to) the batter, with the pivot foot on or in front of and touching the pitcher’s plate. The pitcher’s entire free foot shall not be in front of the pivot foot." |
Quote:
UmpJim: I do not doubt for a minute that under NCAA Rules that it is an Illegal Pitch/Balk, but Junior and I only umpire under NFHS rules except for the Roy Hobbs League (MLB/AL Rules) games that we do in the summer so when it comes to the college boys we leave that to the big dogs at the college level. I do download a copy of the NCAA Baseball Rules every year just to have a copy on file if I want to research something but that is far as it goes. Still love the Jimi Hendrix in the background of the video though, :D. MTD, Sr. |
Just because there are no runners doesn't mean the pitcher has to or is using windup.
Looks to me like they consider him in set, not windup, and all his shrug/step stuff is part of his natural motion that commits him to pitch. If so, it is legal. As no one has called it on him all year, I'd go with the "deemed legal" thought. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
NOTHING says you cannot use one set of motions from the set position with runners on, and another set of motions with no one on. What you're seeing in this video is a (somewhat unorthodox, but legal) set position. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm. |