The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison View Post
Arencibia great catch. He did not fall into the dugout. He stayed on his feet the entire catch. He caught the ball and negotiated the railing without falling. Catch and carry. He is allowed to come out throwing.
I found the clip on MLB at ATL@TOR
Except for "catch and carry", this is all correct.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 210
Catch and carry

I have always thought of the catch and carry rule as: If the field catches the ball with at least one foot in LBT or jumped from LBT and maintains his footing in DBT he can come out throwing. If he falls, then the ball is dead and runners advance. He did enter the dugout after making the catch and came out with the ball.

Just as an aside: FED rules do not allow catch and carry. The ball is dead immediately and one base award if unintentional and 2 base award if intentional.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison View Post
I have always thought of the catch and carry rule as: If the field catches the ball with at least one foot in LBT or jumped from LBT and maintains his footing in DBT he can come out throwing. If he falls, then the ball is dead and runners advance. He did enter the dugout after making the catch and came out with the ball.

Just as an aside: FED rules do not allow catch and carry. The ball is dead immediately and one base award if unintentional and 2 base award if intentional.
You've got the rule right, but the terminology backward.

"Catch and carry" is when you catch it in LBT, securing the out, but then carry it into DBT, giving any runners a base.

Arencibia caught it, but did not fall, and can throw it out, as you stated --- because he did NOT "catch and carry".
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 09:20am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Here's the link. Sorry, but I don't know how to embed videos.

Video | MLB.com Multimedia



The appropriate OBR rule is 5.10(f):

[It's a dead ball] "When a fielder, after catching a fly ball, falls into a bench or stand, or falls across ropes into a crowd when spectators are on the field. As pertains to runners, the provisions of 7.04(c) shall prevail.

"If a fielder after making a catch steps into a bench, but does not fall, the ball is in play and runners may advance at their own peril."

There is no such thing as "catch and carry" under OBR. I believe this only exists in FED ball (not sure about NCAA).
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker

Last edited by Manny A; Wed May 29, 2013 at 09:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
...(not sure about NCAA).
NCAA is similar to OBR, only difference is that if the player slides purposefully into DBT and stands up while in DBT, he is not considered to have fallen.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 10:20am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Since we're on the subject, and because I don't have my references handy, is there a requirement to properly tag up on the 7.04 situation?

For example, suppose Arencibia did fall into the dugout after making the catch. R1 and R2 would have been awarded one base. But once the award is made, do they need to go back and tag up if they were off the base during the catch?

My gut tells me they do. After all, the ball was legally caught.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 29, 2013, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Since we're on the subject, and because I don't have my references handy, is there a requirement to properly tag up on the 7.04 situation?

For example, suppose Arencibia did fall into the dugout after making the catch. R1 and R2 would have been awarded one base. But once the award is made, do they need to go back and tag up if they were off the base during the catch?

My gut tells me they do. After all, the ball was legally caught.
Absolutely.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Coach not an umpire so I don't pretend to know rules as well as you guys. But why would they have to tag up if its an automatic award for a rule violation? Wouldn't it be similar to throwing a ball into stands or dugout? I know it was caught in air but if they can advance without liability to be out out why the need to tag. Thanks in advance for your answers. Always trying to learn more.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonTberry View Post
Coach not an umpire so I don't pretend to know rules as well as you guys. But why would they have to tag up if its an automatic award for a rule violation? Wouldn't it be similar to throwing a ball into stands or dugout? I know it was caught in air but if they can advance without liability to be out out why the need to tag. Thanks in advance for your answers. Always trying to learn more.
Because even though you are awarded a base (whether through a situation like this one, or obstruction, or a ground rule double, etc), you are still required to run the bases properly. In this situation, if the runner was awarded home, and failed to retouch third, then when they are ready to begin play again the defense would still be allowed to appeal the runner having left the base early (before the catch), and the runner would be out. It would be the same as if on a ground rule double the batter-runner simply skipped first base and ran straight to 2nd - the defense could appeal the miss of first base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonTberry View Post
Coach not an umpire so I don't pretend to know rules as well as you guys. But why would they have to tag up if its an automatic award for a rule violation? Wouldn't it be similar to throwing a ball into stands or dugout? I know it was caught in air but if they can advance without liability to be out out why the need to tag. Thanks in advance for your answers. Always trying to learn more.
An "award" is really "the right to run the bases without the defense making a play." You still need to comply with the base running rules.

For example, on a home run, you need to touch all the bases, and you can't pass another runner (and in FED you can't commit MC).

I agree that the rules *could* be written differently (it's an award -- just go there; if the award is home just go to the dugout), but they aren't.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonTberry View Post
Coach not an umpire so I don't pretend to know rules as well as you guys. But why would they have to tag up if its an automatic award for a rule violation? Wouldn't it be similar to throwing a ball into stands or dugout? I know it was caught in air but if they can advance without liability to be out out why the need to tag. Thanks in advance for your answers. Always trying to learn more.
Because of OBR 7.08d "Any runner is out when; He fails to retouch his base after a fair or foul ball is legally caught before he, or his base, is tagged by a fielder. He shall not be called out for failure to retouch his base after the first following pitch, or any play or attempted play. This is an appeal play."

and

Rule 7.05(i) Comment: "The fact a runner is awarded a base or bases without liability to be put out does not relieve him of the responsibility to touch the base he is awarded and all intervening bases. For example: batter hits a ground ball which an infielder throws into the stands but the batterrunner
missed first base. He may be called out on appeal for missing first base after the ball is put in play even though he was “awarded” second base.

If a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch, he must retouch his original base even though, because of some ground rule or other rule, he is awarded additional bases. He may retouch while the ball is dead and the award is then made from his original base."


Bottom line here is because the rules say so..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2013, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonTberry View Post
Coach not an umpire so I don't pretend to know rules as well as you guys. But why would they have to tag up if its an automatic award for a rule violation? Wouldn't it be similar to throwing a ball into stands or dugout? I know it was caught in air but if they can advance without liability to be out out why the need to tag. Thanks in advance for your answers. Always trying to learn more.
You have to run the bases properly no matter what. That's why HR hitters have to circle the bases rather than just going to the dugout.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS calling "play ball" after dead ball shipwreck Softball 2 Thu Aug 04, 2011 09:11pm
Ball four, runners moving, pass ball, out of play... JasonWilliam Baseball 14 Mon Oct 19, 2009 09:50pm
Post Script to: "I played pro ball! Did you play pro ball?" Kevin Finnerty Baseball 46 Sat May 23, 2009 05:58pm
"Wrong ball" play makes it to Pee-Wee ball OverAndBack Football 32 Sat Sep 22, 2007 03:00pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1