![]() |
|
|||
OK, let's say an appeal is "a play".
PLAY: R1 & R2 at 1st and 2nd. Batter hits a base clearing triple. The defense believes that R1 missed 2nd and that R2 missed 3rd. They throw the ball to 2nd, tag the bag, and claim that R1 missed 2nd. Then, they throw the ball to 3rd and claim that R2 missed 3rd. Should the umpire disallow the second appeal (at 3rd) because there was an intervening play - one of the criteria for disallowing an appeal? It would seem that would be the case if an appeal was considered "a play". |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quite what? You can make an appeal to an unoccupied base while still in contact with the rubber? Please clarify.
![]()
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
If it will make Bob feel better, consider the NCAA rule 8-6b(10): It is not a balk for a pitcher, while in contact with the rubber (does not step back), to throw to an unoccupied base for the purpose of making an appeal play.
For OBR, consider 8.05 Comment: Umpires should bear in mind that the purpose of the balk rule is to prevent the pitcher from deliberately deceiving the base runner. If there is doubt in the umpire’s mind, the “intent” of the pitcher should govern. I think that nearly always all the players recognize an appeal which is being made from the mound. |
|
|||
Quote:
It's "not considered" ONLY for the purpose of making multiple appeals. It's really that simple. |
|
|||
Quote:
So, to be safe, I recommend that a pitcher step back off the rubber prior to making a throw to a base for an appeal.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Quote:
MLBUM: It is NOT a balk for the pitcher, while in contact with the rubber, to throw to an unoccupied base IF it is for the purpose of making an appeal play. (Note that the pitcher does not have to step back off the rubber to make an appeal play.) The emphasis is in the book.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Why is it so tough for people to simply let go of the fact that you can throw to an unoccupied base for the purpose of making a play or making an appeal?
It baffles me. Open the rule book. Is it lying?
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Appeals | njdevs00cup | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:11pm |
Appeals | Jim Krueger | Baseball | 3 | Tue Mar 08, 2005 01:37pm |
Fed appeals | joemoore | Baseball | 4 | Mon Feb 25, 2002 12:21pm |
ASA Appeals? | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Wed Apr 18, 2001 09:23pm |
Appeals | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Wed Mar 28, 2001 12:17am |