The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Appeals question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/94917-appeals-question.html)

RonTberry Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:02pm

Appeals question

I'm a Cal Ripken 9-12 coach. My first post here so I apologize if this has been covered.

In a recent game I felt a runner left early from 3B on a caught fly ball. After play ended and ball returned to my pitcher I called time so my pitcher couldn't throw a pitch and instructed my third baseman to go to bag and for my pitcher to throw it to him for the appeal. The umpire told me I could not appeal because my calling timeout to tell my kids how to do it killed the appeal. He said once a TO was called no appeal could be made. I've searched the rule book but can't find any confirmation. Would appreciate being pointed to the section that states this if it is the rule. Thanks in advance.

RPatrino Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:07pm

You don't need to call time out in this case. Just throw the ball back into 3rd base and make the appeal. By calling time out, you didn't kill the appeal, per se. You just have to make sure the ball is put back into play, and have your pitcher step off the rubber legally and make a proper appeal.

RonTberry Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:13pm

Thank you sir. That's what I thought as well. I knew it wasn't required to call a timeout but I had an inexperienced pitcher and 3B and wanted to make sure they knew what to do. Appreciate the help.

RPatrino Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:15pm

When I coached, it was something I practiced regularly. Outs are valuable.

dash_riprock Wed May 01, 2013 02:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino (Post 892555)