The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
8.01(e) does not apply because the jab step and jump steps are considered to be moves from the rubber.

IOW because they are from the rubber the bit about becoming an infielder because he stepped off doesn't apply because he's still considered on.

The ruling about the jab step is in writing in the MLBUM. The jump step is considered as being in the same category by interpretation.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 07:43pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
8.01(e) does not apply because the jab step and jump steps are considered to be moves from the rubber.

IOW because they are from the rubber the bit about becoming an infielder because he stepped off doesn't apply because he's still considered on.

The ruling about the jab step is in writing in the MLBUM. The jump step is considered as being in the same category by interpretation.
I'm sorry, I cannot speak to what you are saying without reading the text of the MLBUM, for which I have been tearing up my room looking for. Would you mind quoting the pertinent section?

ETA: I cannot believe I can't find my MLBUM. I'm so frustrated right now. Sorry.

Last edited by Lapopez; Tue Oct 30, 2012 at 07:57pm.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 08:11pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
I don't mean to be rude, but I'm calling BS on this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
8.01(e) does not apply because the jab step and jump steps are considered to be moves from the rubber.

IOW because they are from the rubber the bit about becoming an infielder because he stepped off doesn't apply because he's still considered on.

The ruling about the jab step is in writing in the MLBUM. The jump step is considered as being in the same category by interpretation.
[Sorry, I went to CDP in July and my MLBUM was still in my suitcase!]

I cannot find any such language, Rich. I found this though, "It is legal for a right-handed pitcher to begin a pick-off move to first base by moving his pivot foot in the direction of third base provided that he makes a legal step toward first base with the non-pivot foot before throwing there and provided that the move is continuous and without interruption. A pitcher who makes such a pick-off is considered to be in contact with the rubber when he makes his throw to first base." (Bold emphasis is original to citation.)

Wow! Bob's quote was from 1999. When did the MLBUM become publicly available? He sure was ahead of his time.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 08:27pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
It was a jump turn.

Or not.

JJ
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 08:30pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
I think you have something there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ View Post
It was a jump turn.

Or not.

JJ
Let me catch you up in the thread. No one is disputing that Cain executed a jump step anymore. (I never did.)
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lapopez View Post

I cannot find any such language, Rich.
You quote it then deny it. OMG! 2012 MLBUM Chapter/Section/Rule 53 Page 67 (The bold is theirs, the underscored part you need to read slowly - very slowly - and carefully)

(i) It is legal for a right-handed pitcher to begin a pick-off move to first base by first moving his pivot foot in the direction of third base provided that he makes a legal step toward first base with the non-pivot foot before throwing there and provided that the move is continuous and without interruption. A pitcher who makes such a pick-off move is considered to be in contact with the rubber when he makes his throw to first base.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 10:39pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
I so wanted to take a break from this. Darn OCD!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
You quote it then deny it. OMG! 2012 MLBUM Chapter/Section/Rule 53 Page 67 (The bold is theirs, the underscored part you need to read slowly - very slowly - and carefully)

(i) It is legal for a right-handed pitcher to begin a pick-off move to first base by first moving his pivot foot in the direction of third base provided that he makes a legal step toward first base with the non-pivot foot before throwing there and provided that the move is continuous and without interruption. A pitcher who makes such a pick-off move is considered to be in contact with the rubber when he makes his throw to first base.
"Such a pick-off move" = "pick-off move to first base by first moving his pivot foot in the direction of third base"

That's not what Cain did. Cain stepped back.

(As far as what you addressed to Carl, I'll let Carl respond to the selective sentences you chose from my dissertation that you did not understand as to how they fit into the rest of the argument.)

Last edited by Lapopez; Tue Oct 30, 2012 at 10:46pm.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lapopez View Post
"Such a pick-off move" = "pick-off move to first base by first moving his pivot foot in the direction of third base"

That's not what Cain did.

(As far as what you addressed to Carl, I'll let Carl respond to the selective sentences you chose from my dissertation that you did not understand how they fit into the rest of the argument.)
For deity's sake - the meaning is that it's a move from the rubber and that a jump turn is also a move from the rubber. If they're from the rubber then it couldn't be considered a disengagement. 8.01(e) defines what you consider the pitcher IF he legally disengages as described in 8.01 a and b - not as a separate thing.

The quotes I copied are the basis of your argument. If they are not true the rest is meaningless.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 10:55pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
No blaspheming now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
For deity's sake - the meaning is that it's a move from the rubber and that a jump turn is also a move from the rubber.
Not a jump turn in which the pitcher steps back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post

The quotes I copied are the basis of your argument. If they are not true the rest is meaningless.
Oh, they're true. Try to understand them in the context of the rest of the argument. After you've done that, please show me where my logic is faulty.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 30, 2012, 11:05pm
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
I missed a very important part of your post!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
8.01(e) defines what you consider the pitcher IF he legally disengages (emphasis added) as described in 8.01 a and b - not as a separate thing.
This is patently FALSE! You clearly don't understand my dissertation. May I direct you to the chapter "Disengagement" for the discussion of this red herring.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2012, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lapopez View Post
That's not what Cain did. Cain stepped back
Good grief. Make up your mind, will you? You can't say it's a jump turn and also say he stepped back. They are diametrically opposite conclusions.

For the record, please look again at the video ... exactly what direction did his pivot foot go? It gains significant ground toward third base. Yes - it moves slightly back as well, but it still fits within the description you quoted (and simultaneously said you couldn't find... Meh Huh?)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2012, 09:42am
I hate Illinois Nazis
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Ok, the "Practical"

Practically, you call what you see.

[You can stop there, unless you're interested in a dissertation.]

From the beginning, I've held the umpires blameless. Maven straight out ASSUMES they saw the step back and ruled (!) it a jump turn (where do you stand on this now, babe?). I don't subscribe to UES's slippery slope business either. Carl says he never sees the Cain move, but Carl regularly does a little better baseball than I do. As in 1999, I still see the Cain move often. The frequency diminishes as the age and skill level increases. The older boys are losing precious fractions of a second stepping back and turning (Cain) rather than just turning (MLBUM). From a practical standpoint, if I couldn't see the step back, I'll rule as the MLB umpires did in the Cain play. You can't call what you don't see. To the offensive coach, "I'm sorry Skip, he was so quick, I didn't see the step back. Please go back to your dugout now as I really don't want to run you for something I missed."
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base NCASAUmp Softball 20 Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am
3 Base Award? BigUmp56 Baseball 46 Wed Feb 22, 2006 02:27pm
Base Award LDUB Baseball 6 Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am
Base Award Rick Vietti Baseball 5 Wed Aug 06, 2003 01:33pm
1 or 2 Base Award? insatty Baseball 26 Sat Mar 15, 2003 04:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1