The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Protestable? - No, it was a judgment call.
Good Judgment? - I guess for MLB it was - I don't agree.
Would I call this exact play? - Not even in a HS game! I would give infielders about 10 to 20 feet back on the outfield grass. After that I am not call an IFF.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
Protestable? - No, it was a judgment call.
Good Judgment? - I guess for MLB it was - I don't agree.
Would I call this exact play? - Not even in a HS game! I would give infielders about 10 to 20 feet back on the outfield grass. After that I am not call an IFF.
Just a question: If a coach asked you why it wasn't an infield fly when his F6 was waiting for the ball to come down when his fielder was 40' in the grass?
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Texas Leaguers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
Just a question: If a coach asked you why it wasn't an infield fly when his F6 was waiting for the ball to come down when his fielder was 40' in the grass?
Sorry, but that wasn't your garden variety can of corn. Another rule covers the situation to protect the base runners from falling victim to a DP. Hopefully, in the future, a crew will reconsider the rule and make the determination that ordinary effort was not a factor in this play.

The crew convened to discuss the rule and stuck with the call, and then MLB used the word judgement to exonerate the crew. The wrong call was made. The crew should have used better judgment to overturn that original call. MLB cannot do it for them. We find ourselves with another blown judgement call at the end of the day.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sun Oct 07, 2012 at 10:42am.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Another rule covers the situation to protect the base runners from falling victim to a DP.
And that rule is ??
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Sorry, but that wasn't your garden variety can of corn. Another rule covers the situation to protect the base runners from falling victim to a DP. Hopefully, in the future, a crew will reconsider the rule and make the determination that ordinary effort was not a factor in this play.

The crew convened to discuss the rule and stuck with the call, and then MLB used the word judgement to exonerate the crew. The wrong call was made. The crew should have used better judgment to overturn that original call. MLB cannot do it for them. We find ourselves with another blown judgement call at the end of the day.
Another rule does not cover if the ball falls untouched or accidentally. This is the only rule which applies when the ball is still in the air. And, as soon as F6 is there under ordinary effort, it is a "can of corn" especially at that level. But, at any level, if the infielder is camped under it or showing he is moving with the ball under ordinary effort, it is IFR and should be called regardless if this is HS, 10 year olds, or MLB.

The reasons I have heard so far not to call it are not covered by the rule. The only thing that applies is judgment, not depth and not level.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"

Last edited by GA Umpire; Sun Oct 07, 2012 at 12:30pm.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Base hit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
Another rule does not cover if the ball falls untouched or accidentally. This is the only rule which applies when the ball is still in the air. And, as soon as F6 is there under ordinary effort, it is a "can of corn" especially at that level. But, at any level, if the infielder is camped under it or showing he is moving with the ball under ordinary effort, it is IFR and should be called regardless if this is HS, 10 year olds, or MLB.

The reasons I have heard so far not to call it are not covered by the rule. The only thing that applies is judgment, not depth and not level.
Even a MLB shortstop couldn't make the play on the Texas Leaguer which fell for a base hit. The only way to catch the ball was over the shoulder, and this shortstop turned the wrong way. In my judgment, there was no need to protect the grown man running into the outfield who couldnt catch up with a fly pop.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Sun Oct 07, 2012 at 01:03pm.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Even a MLB shortstop couldn't make the play on the Texas Leaguer which fell for a base hit. The only way to catch the ball was over the shoulder, and this shortstop turned the wrong way. In my judgment, there was no need to protect the grown man running into the outfield who couldnt catch up with a fly pop.
The ball landed where the shortstop's feet was prior to bailing away from the charging outfielder.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 01:35pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
With a well coached team, they might use the fact that you won't call this at the FED level to swap runners. Maybe they pinch ran a speedster or a fast courtesy runner on 2B for the game winner. Now you don't call IFF and they lose their runner. The rule does more than protect from a cheap double play.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Here is a question for debate.

The MLB comment states: The umpire must rule also that a ball is an infield fly, even if handled by an outfielder, if, in the umpire's judgment, the ball could have been as easily handled by an infielder. .

My question is, if the outfield is playing shallow and an outfielder makes a catch in a spot that 'in the umpires judgement' could have been easily handled by an infielder, does an infielder even have to make an attempt to catch the ball?
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2012, 01:51pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
I finally saw the actual play and I have no problem with the call. It fits all the rule requirements that I am aware of. I guess I could understanding not calling this too, but then I would see people suggesting that someone was thrown out at 3rd or second as being unfair too.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by GA Umpire View Post
Just a question: If a coach asked you why it wasn't an infield fly when his F6 was waiting for the ball to come down when his fielder was 40' in the grass?
I honestly don't know too many coaches who would even think of this (the play in the MLB video) as an IFF. Most of them would be questioning why it was called.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 03:39pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
I honestly don't know too many coaches who would even think of this (the play in the MLB video) as an IFF. Most of them would be questioning why it was called.
that's because they don't know the rules. They do now!
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
I honestly don't know too many coaches who would even think of this (the play in the MLB video) as an IFF. Most of them would be questioning why it was called.
That may be. But, I was just wondering if the answer would be in line with the rule. If an umpire "judges" it to not be in line with the rule, by all means, don't call it. Too many are saying b/c it was "too deep" or the level of play. Both are weak arguments and protestable. Also, if a HS could go out this far and get set to catch it without being "on the run", I think he deserves credit for the effort even if he drops it. Besides, the rule somewhat states the same thing.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
Would I call this exact play? - Not even in a HS game! I would give infielders about 10 to 20 feet back on the outfield grass. After that I am not call an IFF.
And when the coach asks you to show him where in Rule 2-19 it says anything about 10-20 feet, are you going to show him the rule, ignore him, or are you going to just make something else up?
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
And when the coach asks you to show him where in Rule 2-19 it says anything about 10-20 feet, are you going to show him the rule, ignore him, or are you going to just make something else up?
If you want to call an IFF with an infielder 40 to 50 feet out, go for it. I will not. I think you are picking up the $hitty end of a rotten stick by calling this. I do not see the intent of the rule (prevent the unearned DP) being served with the infielder so far out. If you want to have $hit on your hands and a coach in your face, by all means, enjoy it.

Remember, I never said it was wrong, I simply said I will not call this under these conditions. Were I evaluating an umpire and he made this call, I would not mark him negatively as long his explanation for the call so far out was in line with the rule. In other words, as long as the umpire knew why he called this, I would have to accept it as a correct call in the evaluation.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anybody explain wild card . . . ? greymule Baseball 5 Mon Oct 01, 2007 03:47pm
Game Card michaelpr Football 47 Thu Aug 05, 2004 07:12pm
Fed Game Wild Play Dukat Softball 14 Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51pm
Game Card Ed Hickland Football 15 Fri Sep 05, 2003 09:49am
Pre Game Card RefSouthAlb Basketball 1 Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1