![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
That was my point. The rule calls for the catch to be made using ordinary effort. It doesn't require an actual catch. The fielder may use more than ordinary effort to start out, but as the play progresses, he may get into position to make the catch easily.
And an easily caught ball could turn into an equally easy drop to turn the DP. Which is why the rule exists. For those who continue to argue that the ball went too deep into the outfield, consider the Thome shift that more and more teams are using against him and other dead-pull hitters. Are you going to suggest that a can-of-corn fly ball to F4 playing in short right-center field can never be an IFF?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
Protestable? - No, it was a judgment call.
Good Judgment? - I guess for MLB it was - I don't agree. Would I call this exact play? - Not even in a HS game! I would give infielders about 10 to 20 feet back on the outfield grass. After that I am not call an IFF.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
Just a question: If a coach asked you why it wasn't an infield fly when his F6 was waiting for the ball to come down when his fielder was 40' in the grass?
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
Texas Leaguers?
Quote:
The crew convened to discuss the rule and stuck with the call, and then MLB used the word judgement to exonerate the crew. The wrong call was made. The crew should have used better judgment to overturn that original call. MLB cannot do it for them. We find ourselves with another blown judgement call at the end of the day.
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Oct 07, 2012 at 10:42am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The reasons I have heard so far not to call it are not covered by the rule. The only thing that applies is judgment, not depth and not level.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" Last edited by GA Umpire; Sun Oct 07, 2012 at 12:30pm. |
|
|||
|
Base hit?
Quote:
__________________
SAump
Last edited by SAump; Sun Oct 07, 2012 at 01:03pm. |
|
|||
|
I honestly don't know too many coaches who would even think of this (the play in the MLB video) as an IFF. Most of them would be questioning why it was called.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
That may be. But, I was just wondering if the answer would be in line with the rule. If an umpire "judges" it to not be in line with the rule, by all means, don't call it. Too many are saying b/c it was "too deep" or the level of play. Both are weak arguments and protestable. Also, if a HS could go out this far and get set to catch it without being "on the run", I think he deserves credit for the effort even if he drops it. Besides, the rule somewhat states the same thing.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
And when the coach asks you to show him where in Rule 2-19 it says anything about 10-20 feet, are you going to show him the rule, ignore him, or are you going to just make something else up?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Remember, I never said it was wrong, I simply said I will not call this under these conditions. Were I evaluating an umpire and he made this call, I would not mark him negatively as long his explanation for the call so far out was in line with the rule. In other words, as long as the umpire knew why he called this, I would have to accept it as a correct call in the evaluation.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
|
That's not the only reason. Swapping runners is another option that a savvy defense will exploit if this is not properly called. But you're right, that is the main reason
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
I think one thing that is being overlooked is the possibility of F7 coming in on the run and catching it to throw to 3B. And, that would not change the fact that F6 still got to it with ordinary effort. If the runners were tagging instead of having a lead, this would very well be a "cheap DP". That is the main goal of the rule, right? It could have been done at this level and possibly HS, definitely college. Just b/c this one hit the ground and the runners had a "lead" does not change the concept or application of the rule.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Can anybody explain wild card . . . ? | greymule | Baseball | 5 | Mon Oct 01, 2007 03:47pm |
| Game Card | michaelpr | Football | 47 | Thu Aug 05, 2004 07:12pm |
| Fed Game Wild Play | Dukat | Softball | 14 | Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51pm |
| Game Card | Ed Hickland | Football | 15 | Fri Sep 05, 2003 09:49am |
| Pre Game Card | RefSouthAlb | Basketball | 1 | Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:44am |