![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Here's one of several errors made by the crew: if U1 calls R1 out for INT, why is he allowing play to develop? Why are we throwing the ball across the diamond? Isn't it DEAD on INT?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() F2 is the last fielder protected. I believe the correct call was made. I would have ruled INT as well. |
|
|||
Um ... based on your OWN WORDS, calling int would be wrong. If you protected F2 - then the collision between runner and F3 is obstruction, not interference. (PS - Mr. Rolleyes... routine or not has nothing to do with this - if you really think it does, please ask this at your next clinic. What matters is - which fielder does the UMPIRE think is going to make the play? That fielder is protected, and no one else.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
This was definitely a dumb move by R1. He's lollygagging back to first base while holding his arm up in the air. Interference should have been called right then and there, IMHO. I'm not so sure U1 made that call right away. It was only after the crew got together to discuss it did they make that determination.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
In the other video, you can see him put his arm in the air at the point where they collide (looks more like and IFF signal to me) and he points several times at the runner, long before the ball came down.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Egads ... two in the same thread. NO. Interference is a dead ball. The ball's status is DEAD.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Same is true for type A OBS on the batter runner. If the ball is a fly ball or fair/foul status is in question you keep it live until the play is over. Last edited by UmpTTS43; Mon Aug 27, 2012 at 12:12pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
There seem to be a couple advocating protecting F3. I ask if you would have done so if the batter had run over F2 on this play. I also ask for some justification for protecting F3 given that the ball came within about an inch of actually being caught ... by F2.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
It doesn't matter that F2 came within an inch of catching the ball. That's not necessarily the criteria to decide who to protect. If R1 hadn't hindered F3, chances are pretty good that he not only would have been just as close to the ball as F2 ended up being, he would have had a much easier play. And even if the batter had run over F2, that wouldn't have mattered if I had judged F3 was protected AND killed play the moment R1 hindered him.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Mike, I may still be an idiot, but I have no problem with F3 being judged to be making the play - but we are certainly on the same page regarding the ball not being in play as soon as the INT call is made - and the fact that U1's mechanic didn't make sense with the end result of the play...
|
|
|||
Quote:
"F2 is the last fielder protected. I believe the correct call was made." And then when I told him that if F2 was the protected fielder then the correct call was NOT made, he said, "I don't know how you infer that." Um ... I "inferred" that he was protecting F2 because he TYPED that he was protecting F2. You, Hugo, are not an idiot for thinking F3 was the protected fielder. I disagree, but you're not an idiot.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Live ball foul administered as a dead ball foul | ML99 | Football | 2 | Sun Nov 01, 2009 08:38am |
Dead ball foul, then live ball foul? | stegenref | Football | 13 | Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:47pm |
Live Ball Foul Called as Dead Ball | Reffing Rev. | Football | 15 | Wed Sep 09, 2009 01:30pm |
Foul Ball Out or Dead Ball/Foul Ball | Frank Drebin | Baseball | 1 | Sat Apr 30, 2005 06:50am |
Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? | cmckenna | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am |