The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2012, 06:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56 View Post
I had a balk on the play as well. Possibly for two reasons.

One - Looked like the free foot crossed the back plane of the rubber. (maybe)

Two - Also looked like he may have started to rotate toward home rather than step directly toward third. (or more to home than third).

Tim.
No way on either.

1. whole foot has to cross whole rubber, not even close. (see below and thanks to mbyron for updating me on this one). I still don't see him breaking the back edge here.

2. everything went towards third.

No way this is a balk.
__________________
Tony Carilli

Last edited by tcarilli; Sat Aug 18, 2012 at 09:10am. Reason: eating crow! :-)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2012, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
1. whole foot has to cross whole rubber, not even close.
Tony, that's the FED rule (6-2-4f).

OBR 8.05a COMMENT is usually interpreted as any part of the foot.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 18, 2012, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Tony, that's the FED rule (6-2-4f).

OBR 8.05a COMMENT is usually interpreted as any part of the foot.
I don't think that is what 8.05a says. Maybe I'm getting old and fuzzy headed but I remember as a cadet at the Academy being told that it was the whole foot past the whole rubber.

I stand corrected I just found MLBUM 7.5(c).

NCAA is explicit about it in 9-1-b (3)
Quote:
When the pitcher starts the delivery from the set position and the entire free foot or any part of the stride leg breaks the plane of theback edge of the pitcher’s rubber, the pitcher is committed to throwor feint a motion toward second base or pitch to home plate.
Thanks for making me look it up, I appreciate it really. Any day I can learn something is a good day!

And I really got to update my PBUC manual. The one I have says in 6.4 (b)
Quote:
...when he swings his entire foot completely behind the back edge of the rubber.
__________________
Tony Carilli

Last edited by tcarilli; Sat Aug 18, 2012 at 09:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 19, 2012, 06:10am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Bad example in the OP. Beltran was going on first movement -- he didn't take a big secondary & get "deceived".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 20, 2012, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
So, assuming that MLB wants to make this old standby move illegal, how would they change the rule.

I assume they would make it illegal to feint to any base, not just first, so the pitcher would have to throw on any move to a base. Seems like this would cause much more problems, not asllowing a fent to second to drive back a runner without F4/F6 being at the base to receive the throw. Seems to me the medicine will be worse than the illness...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 20, 2012, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
So, assuming that MLB wants to make this old standby move illegal, how would they change the rule.

I assume they would make it illegal to feint to any base, not just first, so the pitcher would have to throw on any move to a base. Seems like this would cause much more problems, not asllowing a fent to second to drive back a runner without F4/F6 being at the base to receive the throw. Seems to me the medicine will be worse than the illness...
No, feints to 2B and 3B will still be legal. See 8.05c COMMENT: where it says "This is legal," insert "not." Problem solved.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 20, 2012, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No, feints to 2B and 3B will still be legal. See 8.05c COMMENT: where it says "This is legal," insert "not." Problem solved.
Not what I read... where I first saw this stated that they would make feints to any base illegal.

Then again ... why are feints to 2nd and 3rd ok, but not to first. Other than tradition, it seems an odd exception.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gtown Green's move vs. a dribble move regs12 Basketball 4 Sun Mar 25, 2007 07:36pm
10.4.5J changed! ljudge Football 8 Sun Jul 31, 2005 07:57pm
Who Changed the Mechanic? RookieDude Basketball 22 Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:03pm
One rule that I would like to see changed HogFan Basketball 29 Wed Jan 16, 2002 03:37pm
Can this be changed? Hawks Coach Basketball 14 Fri Aug 25, 2000 03:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1