The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
A couple of times this week MLB games had plays where the catcher was throwing to first and the runner , after reaching the running lane, had one foot inside the lane and the first baseman missed the throw.
I would not call RLI on this. He has to be completly outside of the lane before I make that call.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."

Last edited by Forest Ump; Sat Aug 04, 2012 at 10:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
I would not call RLI on this. He has to be completly outside of the lane before I make that call.
That's flat out incorrect.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
I would not call RLI on this. He has to be completly outside of the lane before I make that call.
In FED the rule reads: The batter is considered to be outside of the running lane lines if either foot is outside either line.(8-4 art 1 g2).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 01:09pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
In FED the rule reads: The batter is considered to be outside of the running lane lines if either foot is outside either line.(8-4 art 1 g2).
Personally, I like the FED interp better than OBR when comes to the definition as to the throw.

In OBR, the best thing to do is drill the B/R with the ball the way they want it enforced. In FED, they better be in there or else.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
I would not call RLI on this. He has to be completly outside of the lane before I make that call.
OBR: Rule 6.05(k) Comment: The lines marking the three-foot lane are a part of that lane and a batter-runner is required to have both feet within the three-foot lane or on the lines marking the lane.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
OBR: Rule 6.05(k) Comment: The lines marking the three-foot lane are a part of that lane and a batter-runner is required to have both feet within the three-foot lane or on the lines marking the lane.
Yep, I know what the rule states. I read it before I posted. Do you make this call if he has one foot out and one foot in?
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
Yep, I know what the rule states. I read it before I posted. Do you make this call if he has one foot out and one foot in?
When anyone is running never are both of his feet on the ground at the same time and BRs on this play are typically running. Given that, the runner will never have both feet within the lane. So the rule can not be enforced literally. So for practical purposes, what matters is whether his last foot was on the ground within the lane or not.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
Yep, I know what the rule states. I read it before I posted. Do you make this call if he has one foot out and one foot in?
If he interferes, yes.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 07:18pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
To answer the question, PU.

Whether it was a running lane violation depends on what is meant by F3 missed the catch. Did the ball hit the runner? Did the ball hit F3's glove? In other words, did the runner interfere with F3's ability to catch the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2012, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
I would not call RLI on this. He has to be completly outside of the lane before I make that call.
Please bring this up at your next clinic. This is wrong on many levels.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2012, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Please bring this up at your next clinic. This is wrong on many levels.
No need to. I screwed the pooch on this one. I was clearly thinking wrong on this one. Glad it's cleared up now (unlike the rest of this thread).
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2012, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Jeff, you're the only person in the world who believes a running lane violation can be called by U1. How many authoritative sources do you need? You're flat out wrong. Sure you could call it but it would be indefensible to any assigner worth his salt and you would be left twisting in the wind.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2012, 09:12am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon30307 View Post
Jeff, you're the only person in the world who believes a running lane violation can be called by U1. How many authoritative sources do you need? You're flat out wrong. Sure you could call it but it would be indefensible to any assigner worth his salt and you would be left twisting in the wind.
Bases loaded, infield in, and the batter hits the ball to F6. F6 throws home just slightly too late to get R3, and the PU makes an emphatic Safe call. Then F2 throws to first to make the play on the BR. BR is a few steps from first base, with his left foot outside the lane. U1 clearly sees that F3 couldn't find the throw until it gets past the BR, and F3 reacts too late to make the catch.

U1 is supposed to be silent here?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2012, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Bases loaded, infield in, and the batter hits the ball to F6. F6 throws home just slightly too late to get R3, and the PU makes an emphatic Safe call. Then F2 throws to first to make the play on the BR. BR is a few steps from first base, with his left foot outside the lane. U1 clearly sees that F3 couldn't find the throw until it gets past the BR, and F3 reacts too late to make the catch.

U1 is supposed to be silent here?
So, why can't the PU also see the RLI in this circumstance?
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2012, 09:59am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcarilli View Post
So, why can't the PU also see the RLI in this circumstance?
There could be plenty of reasons why the PU misses it. Just look at the play that took place in the White Sox/Angels game, where the PU made the call at home from 3BLX. He wasn't in an ideal position to see it. Heck, this could be a college- or high school-level game with a four-man crew and he's watching for a FPSR violation as F2's throwing to first. Who knows?

Again, I'm just trying to understand why a RLI violation cannot be called by U1, as gordon30307 states.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running lane? roadking Softball 6 Mon Oct 03, 2011 08:15am
Running lane grimjack5150 Softball 7 Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm
Running Lane? DG Baseball 14 Wed May 18, 2005 04:42pm
Running Lane englanj5 Baseball 13 Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:39pm
30' Running Lane bobbrix Softball 16 Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1