The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
I would not call RLI on this. He has to be completly outside of the lane before I make that call.
OBR: Rule 6.05(k) Comment: The lines marking the three-foot lane are a part of that lane and a batter-runner is required to have both feet within the three-foot lane or on the lines marking the lane.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
OBR: Rule 6.05(k) Comment: The lines marking the three-foot lane are a part of that lane and a batter-runner is required to have both feet within the three-foot lane or on the lines marking the lane.
Yep, I know what the rule states. I read it before I posted. Do you make this call if he has one foot out and one foot in?
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
Yep, I know what the rule states. I read it before I posted. Do you make this call if he has one foot out and one foot in?
When anyone is running never are both of his feet on the ground at the same time and BRs on this play are typically running. Given that, the runner will never have both feet within the lane. So the rule can not be enforced literally. So for practical purposes, what matters is whether his last foot was on the ground within the lane or not.
__________________
Tony Carilli
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
Yep, I know what the rule states. I read it before I posted. Do you make this call if he has one foot out and one foot in?
If he interferes, yes.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 04, 2012, 07:18pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
To answer the question, PU.

Whether it was a running lane violation depends on what is meant by F3 missed the catch. Did the ball hit the runner? Did the ball hit F3's glove? In other words, did the runner interfere with F3's ability to catch the ball?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running lane? roadking Softball 6 Mon Oct 03, 2011 08:15am
Running lane grimjack5150 Softball 7 Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm
Running Lane? DG Baseball 14 Wed May 18, 2005 04:42pm
Running Lane englanj5 Baseball 13 Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:39pm
30' Running Lane bobbrix Softball 16 Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1