![]() |
|
|||
From the 2004 Interpretations:
SITUATION 19: B1 bunts and F2 fields the ball in fair territory in front of home plate. B1 is running in foul territory when F2, in fair territory, throws errantly and hits B1 in the back. B1 continues running and touches first base. RULING: The play stands. F2 made an errant throw. Although B1 was not in the running lane, his position did not interfere with F2’s throw. (8-4-1g Exception) SITUATION 20: As B1 bunts, F2 fields the ball in front of home plate in fair ground. B1 is running in fair ground as he nears first base. F2 realizes he does not have a line of sight to F3 and tries to lob the ball over B1. F3 leaps but cannot catch the ball. RULING: B1 is out for interference. Although F2 made an errant throw, B1 is guilty of interference by being out of the 3-foot running lane. (8-4-1g) It seems clear to me that a quality throw is necessary in FED, except when F2 throws over top of F3's head in attempt to throw over the BR who is in line of sight between F2 and F3 and that is difference between FED and other codes. 8-4-1g and 6.05(k) read similar, but as we all know there are interpretations of the written rule that are universally followed. It is not all black and white. I know of no change in recent years. Last edited by DG; Thu Apr 26, 2012 at 11:31pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
OK - I admit it. Reffing is much harder than I thought it would be. | dsqrddgd909 | Basketball | 31 | Wed Jul 29, 2009 05:10am |
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm |
OK, Admit it... | WhistlesAndStripes | Football | 6 | Thu Sep 01, 2005 07:17pm |
Okay, I Admit It... | rainmaker | Basketball | 12 | Tue Oct 14, 2003 02:46pm |
do you admit you're wrong? | Jeremy40 | Basketball | 10 | Fri Feb 15, 2002 12:15pm |