The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Admit I am out of touch, (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/90800-admit-i-am-out-touch.html)

Tim C Thu Apr 26, 2012 04:25pm

Admit I am out of touch,

With this one;

I am in my third year of retirement from umpiring, I may have missed a change.

Over on the ABUA site there are quizzes:

One of the plays is about a runner not in the running lane and the catcher throws the ball 7' over the head of the runner and F3.

ABUA says there is a no running lane violation as the throw was wild, batter runner is safe (all codes agree).

Ok, so as little as two years ago NFHS made it very clear that ANY throw caused this to be a violation by the batter-runner. There did NOT have to be a quality throw.

Simply asked:

Has the NFHS rule changed?

Thanks,

t

Justme561 Thu Apr 26, 2012 05:35pm

No! 8-4-1g - The batter-runner is out when he runs outside the three-foot running lane (last half of the distance from home plate to first base), while the ball is being fielded or thrown to first base.

DG Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:28pm

From the 2004 Interpretations:

SITUATION 19: B1 bunts and F2 fields the ball in fair territory in front of home plate. B1 is running in foul territory when F2, in fair territory, throws errantly and hits B1 in the back. B1 continues running and touches first base. RULING: The play stands. F2 made an errant throw. Although B1 was not in the running lane, his position did not interfere with F2’s throw. (8-4-1g Exception)

SITUATION 20: As B1 bunts, F2 fields the ball in front of home plate in fair ground. B1 is running in fair ground as he nears first base. F2 realizes he does not have a line of sight to F3 and tries to lob the ball over B1. F3 leaps but cannot catch the ball. RULING: B1 is out for interference. Although F2 made an errant throw, B1 is guilty of interference by being out of the 3-foot running lane. (8-4-1g)