![]() |
|
|
|||
Right, Rich. Only the obstructed runner is guaranteed 1 base advance. Other runners end up where they end up.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
In the OP, I'm guessing the umpire called time. In that case, he needs to pull out the "IFU" rule and rectify the situation. |
|
|||
I recall one in a FED game a couple years ago, R2 got into a pickle on a ground ball to F6, after couple throws he was obstructed going toward 3b and I called out "that's obstruction" and pointed (I know that's not the FED mechanic, but it's much more effective). Since he had not been tagged he kept up the pickle and after several more throws and maybe 15 seconds go by they tagged him diving back toward 2b, where B1 stood.
Defensive coach was none too happy when I awarded R2 3b, and left B1 at 2b, as I explained FED live ball and award to him. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't really blame the coach for asking about this one -- it's unusual enough that I don't think most non-umpires would know the rule -- only that they were (again!) getting "screwed" ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The obs happened near 3b, and the 3b coach (HC) was looking directly at me when I made the call, so he was not complaining at all about the obs, or the continuing pickle. I did not watch him because I was watching the pickle but I suspect he was motioning for BR to take 2b. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Batter-Runner and possible 1st Baseman Obstruction? | mkntrds | Softball | 5 | Sat Apr 17, 2010 08:36pm |
Illegal pitch with no runner advancing | SC Ump | Softball | 2 | Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:25am |
Runner stopped advancing | Saltydog | Baseball | 11 | Mon Jun 07, 2004 04:06am |
runner hit by batted ball while advancing | bumz44 | Softball | 8 | Thu Jun 05, 2003 09:22pm |
obstruction w/'pickle' | TGordon | Softball | 16 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:30am |