The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 12:55pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunter82 View Post
Situation: Bases loaded 1 out

Batter grounds to third

3B tags runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd. Runner from third crosses home plate after tag. 3B steps on 2nd before runner on first reaches. Does the run count?

If not, if runner crosses home before the tag, does it count?

Thanks
Both plays are force plays. Whether a runner or a base is tagged matters not. The force results from the batter-runner putting the ball in play and forcing R1 from first (who then forces R2 from second, who then forces R3 from third).

No runs score. How does F5 run to second and put out R1 after tagging R2? Does R1 have a refrigerator strapped to his back?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force Play MOofficial Softball 13 Thu Oct 11, 2007 02:38pm
Force Play? rsteele Baseball 20 Tue Jan 11, 2005 08:04am
Force Out Play jggilliam Softball 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am
Force Play? Lapopez Baseball 78 Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1