The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
As Rich pointed out, the tag on R2 was a force play, but since that was only the second out, whether or not it was a force was irrelevant. All that matters is that the third out (on R1 at 2B) was a force out, so the run does not score. This is not a timing play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur View Post
This is not a timing play.
Nor is it a time play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks for the replies.

So to clarify the 3rd out is what counts. If it was runners on 2nd and 3rd with 1 out and the the runner advaning from second was tagged then the third out was a throw to first, the timing of the runner from 3rd crossing home is irrelevant, right?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunter82 View Post
Thanks for the replies.

So to clarify the 3rd out is what counts. If it was runners on 2nd and 3rd with 1 out and the the runner advancing from second was tagged then the third out was a throw to first, the timing of the runner from 3rd crossing home is irrelevant, right?
Correct. If the third out is a force play or the batter-runner retired at 1B, then no runs can score.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Correct. If the third out is a force play or the batter-runner retired at 1B, then no runs can score.
Not to be nit-picky here but you probably should say "or the batter-runner retired before having safely reached 1B." You could be retired "at 1B" after having reached it safely and it not be a force out and the run would count (see comment on OBR 7.08 j )
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
Not to be nit-picky here but you probably should say "or the batter-runner retired before having safely reached 1B." You could be retired "at 1B" after having reached it safely and it not be a force out and the run would count (see comment on OBR 7.08 j )
Not to be nit-picky here but, it is never a force out at first base.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 16, 2011, 12:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone View Post
Not to be nit-picky here but, it is never a force out at first base.
Oh God, please don't start that again! Last week at the ABUA site was enough!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 16, 2011, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin View Post
" You could be retired "at 1B" after having reached it safely and it not be a force out and the run would count (see comment on OBR 7.08 j )
Relative to this statement and the batter-runner going to first, you can not have a force out there.

Of course I am open to being proven different. Go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 16, 2011, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 480
True. It may not meet the full definition of a force out as specified in section 2.00 but the mechanics for achieving the "out" are the same.

Although OBR 10.12 (d1) uses the phrase "the fielder recovers the ball in time to force out a runner at any base", thus not specifically excluding 1st base from being called a "force out". Maybe we should chastise the authors of OBR as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunter82 View Post
So to clarify the 3rd out is what counts. If it was runners on 2nd and 3rd with 1 out and the the runner advaning from second was tagged then the third out was a throw to first, the timing of the runner from 3rd crossing home is irrelevant, right?
Every rule set will have some kind of rule about scoring of runs. In OBR, that would be Rule 4.09:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force Play MOofficial Softball 13 Thu Oct 11, 2007 02:38pm
Force Play? rsteele Baseball 20 Tue Jan 11, 2005 08:04am
Force Out Play jggilliam Softball 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am
Force Play? Lapopez Baseball 78 Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1