The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Double play to end inning (one tag, one force)

Situation: Bases loaded 1 out

Batter grounds to third

3B tags runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd. Runner from third crosses home plate after tag. 3B steps on 2nd before runner on first reaches. Does the run count?

If not, if runner crosses home before the tag, does it count?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 12:55pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bunter82 View Post
Situation: Bases loaded 1 out

Batter grounds to third

3B tags runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd. Runner from third crosses home plate after tag. 3B steps on 2nd before runner on first reaches. Does the run count?

If not, if runner crosses home before the tag, does it count?

Thanks
Both plays are force plays. Whether a runner or a base is tagged matters not. The force results from the batter-runner putting the ball in play and forcing R1 from first (who then forces R2 from second, who then forces R3 from third).

No runs score. How does F5 run to second and put out R1 after tagging R2? Does R1 have a refrigerator strapped to his back?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
I was coaching third and couldn't believe it. lot of players don't understand the rules (two outs run on anything! etc). 3 unassisted double plays by the third baseman last night!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
As Rich pointed out, the tag on R2 was a force play, but since that was only the second out, whether or not it was a force was irrelevant. All that matters is that the third out (on R1 at 2B) was a force out, so the run does not score. This is not a timing play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NY state
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur View Post
This is not a timing play.
Nor is it a time play.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 14, 2011, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks for the replies.

So to clarify the 3rd out is what counts. If it was runners on 2nd and 3rd with 1 out and the the runner advaning from second was tagged then the third out was a throw to first, the timing of the runner from 3rd crossing home is irrelevant, right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force Play MOofficial Softball 13 Thu Oct 11, 2007 02:38pm
Force Play? rsteele Baseball 20 Tue Jan 11, 2005 08:04am
Force Out Play jggilliam Softball 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am
Force Play? Lapopez Baseball 78 Mon Jul 26, 2004 11:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1