![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Not a balk in 12 and under divisions Is a balk in the 13 and up divisions. BECAUSE - with the runners locked on base until the pitch reaches the batter in 12U there's really no advantage gained by a pitcher.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I was shocked that 9U USSSA was leading off a few weekends ago. It's nuts. If a runner gets on first, they should just place him on third because in two pitches he is there anyways -Josh |
|
|||
|
No free foot limitation in pure OBR anymore.
Just google Cliff Lee or JP Howell to see this as a legal in OBR. As long as the pitcher doesn't stretch to a stop he can windup or not from this foot position that looks like the set. If you would balk this backward step to first in the OP would you balk a normal windup stepping back to 2B with R2 and R3? However, these kids are headed to FED so you might as well stop it now. |
|
|||
|
Perhaps someone should take the young lad aside and instruct him as to the proper way to arrive at the set position, and what his legal options are from that point.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Citation please. It's illegal by rule but ignored in MLB, like not stopping from the set with no runners on.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Well this youngster is not on my team or the problem would be fixed (There wouldn't have been a problem anyway). However when I tried to correct the situation the Umpire made me look like an *** and didn't correct it himself. Even the player's Coach had an attitude that I had the nerve to stop the game to ask the question. Time for me to move to Travel Ball.
|
|
|||
|
"Well this youngster is not on my team or the problem would be fixed (There wouldn't have been a problem anyway). However when I tried to correct the situation the Umpire made me look like an *** and didn't correct it himself. Even the player's Coach had an attitude that I had the nerve to stop the game to ask the question. Time for me to move to Travel Ball."
Not your place to correct your opponent's players. Not the umpire's job either. From your OP the umpire has already told you that this was not a balk. That should have ended the discussion on the field. I hope it did, and that you are not one of these pesty rats that are continually ranting during the game, because if you are, and you move up to "Travel Ball" (whatever that is) and higher, and you continue the rant, your life as a coach will be miserable. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
===== MLB RULE 8.01 Rule 8.01(b) Comment: With no runners on base, the pitcher is not required to come to a complete stop when using the Set Position. If, however, in the umpire’s judgment, a pitcher delivers the ball in a deliberate effort to catch the batter off guard, this delivery shall be deemed a quick pitch, for which the penalty is a ball. See Rule 8.05(e) Comment. Rule 8.05(e) Comment: A quick pitch is an illegal pitch. Umpires will judge a quick pitch as one delivered before the batter is reasonably set in the batter’s box. With runners on base the penalty is a balk; with no runners on base, it is a ball. The quick pitch is dangerous and should not be permitted. ===== |
|
|||
|
Quote:
8.01(b)....Set....when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of the pitcher's plate...... BTW 8.01(b) comment allows no stop with no runners. What rulebook are you using? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2 man positions | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 9 | Sun Jan 09, 2011 10:02am |
| Windup | BigUmp56 | Baseball | 5 | Thu Apr 27, 2006 08:47am |
| Positions B and C | O.T.Hill | Baseball | 79 | Thu Mar 30, 2006 04:11pm |
| Windup in FED | Cubbies87 | Baseball | 9 | Mon Jul 26, 2004 10:55pm |
| time out positions | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 04, 2003 03:38am |